Restricted-access e-books can be found on the university's online catalogue and can only be accessed from within the univerisity network.
The below list links are to multi-volume e-book platforms ONLY. And they have a strong focus on key art- and architecture-related topics.
NOTE: Links to individual e-books are not listed here.
- ARTFL (University of Chicago)
Full-text French literature database (Trésors de la langue française). Covers texts 12th century - present.
* The complete on-line version of the first edition of Diderot and d'Alembert's Encyclopédie, with Panckoucke's 4-volume Supplément à l'Encyclopédie
* George D. McKee's The Image of France -- an index of the official documentation of printed imagery and photographs authorized for publication in France
* Selected Salon criticism
- Catálogo Monumental de España (1900-1961)
Superbly digitised volumes from this series. Pre-Civil War photographs are especially useful as they document many buildings and sites destroyed during the conflict.
- Corpus Rubenianum Ludwig Burchard
Enhanced PDF versions (searchable and downloadable) of the CRLB. Files link to records in the RKD image database, allowing for the publication of bibliographic data and provenance information that were not available at the time of print publication of the CRLB. The image records also contain color images, improving on the black and white illustrations used in the orignal CRLB. Images of copies mentioned but were not illustrated in the printed volumes.
- Early English Books Online
Digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales & British North America & works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700. Includes (for example) architectural treatises, painting manuals & guidebooks.
- Eastern Art Online (Ashmolean Museum)
Digitised versions of the Eastern Art Department's print catalogues.
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online
Works published in the UK & elsewhere during the C18th. Includes books, pamphlets, essays, broadsides, etc., mostly in English but also in other languages.
Full-text books, periodicals & other documents (approaching 2 million); plus maps, manuscripts & approx. 500,000 images & some sound recordings. Items are held in collections all over France.
- Getty Research Portal
100,000+ out-of-copyright digitised art history texts, rare books and related publications from a variety of libraries.
- Guggenheim Museum
Platform for the museum's digitised exhibition catalogues (starting with the first, in 1937), essays and related materials.
- Instituto Valenciano de Arte Moderna (IVAM)
Broad array of IVAM publications on art & architecture.
- Internet Archive
Open access ebook and texts archive including publications from museum and library collections (e.g. Whitney Museum, etc.).
- Metropolitan Museum of Art (New York) -- Digital collections
Digitised publications and documents from the MMA's library & archival collections. An extremely wide range of materials.
- Metropolitan Museum of Art (New York) -- Met Publications
PDFs of several hundred Met exhition catalogues, symposium papers & other monographs.
- Oxford Google Books Project
Scans of the Bodleian Libraries' out-of-copyright holdings. This webpage explains how it works.
- Royal Academy Winter Exhibition catalogues (1870-1939)
Added features: Thumbnails of works exhibited in these catalogues; photographs of exhibition installations. Includes the major survey exhibitions of the period, e.g. Flemish & Belgian Art 1300-1900 (1927), Italian Art 1200-1900 (1930) and French Art 1200-1900 (1932).