Skip to main content
Film & film stills collections & databases
- Archivio Storico Luce
Photographs and film footage documenting events and a changing society in C20th Italy, from L.U.C.E. (L'Unione Cinematografica Educativa, founded in 1924).
- Art Full Text (including Art Abstracts)
Covers publications 1984 – present. Abstracts available from 1994. Full text coverage varies with journal title. Wide-ranging index to Western-language journal articles, book reviews and images in mainstream archaeology, architecture, conservation and "fine" and "decorative" arts periodicals. All geographical areas and all periods (ancient – contemporary).
- Art Historians’ Guide to the Movies
Compiled by Craig Eliason. Lists appearances of and references to works of art and architecture in feature films (listing only, no online streaming).
- Arts Council (UK)
Holds many artists' films. Select the Classification tab to limit your search to Film and audio.
Arts on Film Archive On-line video streaming of 450 films on art produced by the UK’s Arts Council England film department, 1953-1998. Includes films about individual artists as well as on more general topics.
Arts Council England films can only be streamed to ac.uk domain addresses; ie you will need to be within the universitynetwork to watch these films.
- ARTstor Union collection of image collections worldwide. Approaching 1,000,000 images covering all periods, all geographic areas and all types of art, architecture and archaeology as well as other subject areas in the Humanities, Social Sciences and Hisitory of Medicine and Science. Contributing collections include libraries, museums and archives, including the Bodleian’s Western Manuscripts and Incunabula collection. All periods, all geographic areas.
NOTE: You may be asked to confirm this as a Trusted Site. Click the "YES" button several times to confirm access.
- British Artists’ Film & Video Study Collection
Contains over 4000 video copies of artists' works, approximately 5000 still images, files on 450 artists, a library of over 1000 books and magazines, a collection of historical posters and publicity materials, and documentation relating to key artist-led organisations, public funding bodies, etc.
- British Artists’ Moving Image Database Covers experimental and avant-garde film, video art, artists' television, and gallery-based installations made by British and British-based artists. It provides information on several thousand works, including the date of making, first exhibition site (if known), and often a short synopsis. If possible, it identifies where copies of the works are held. It is a catalogue only and does not give access to online streaming of the films.
- EDAU Artists' Film and Video Study Collection (Electronic and Digital Art Unit, University of Central Lancashire, UK)
One of the largest collections of artists' films on video and DVD in the UK.
- FLAMIN -- Film London Artists' Moving Image Network
Supports London-based artists making films. Select the Showcas tab to view film clips.
- LUX: Artists’ Moving Image Contains over 4000 films and videos by over 1000 international artists, ranging from the 1920s to the present. Includes rare and unique materials as well as restored classics.
- Tate Channel (Tate Gallery’s film archive)
Online archive of films relating to the Tate Gallery’s collections. Includes artists’ films, artist interviews, short films about Tate exhibitions and artworks, and recordings of Tate talks and symposia. All films are streamed online.
Make sure you are using an up-to-date version of Flash Player when you try to access the films.
Includes artists', authors' and musicians' audio and video pieces as well as interviews.
Based in New York, this is an international collective for video art and experimental films.