Skip to main content

Art and Architecture: Conservation

Conservation @ Oxford

Ashmolean Museum Conservation Department
Areas of conservation focus within the museum's new (2010) conservation studios are antiquities, textiles and works of art on paper. The department also works closely with external conservation individuals and centres (e.g., the National Gallery).

Bodleian Libraries' conservation projects
Website showcasing the activities of the Bodleian's Conservation Department. Conservation work focuses on works on paper ranging from illuminated manuscripts to books to maps.

Chantry Library
The Chantry Library is the research resource for ICON (Institute of Conservation). Conservation work, focusing on the collections of Oxford college libraries, is also carried out at this centre.

Pitt Rivers Museum
The PRM has new & large conservation studios (opened 2007) where research, study and conservation projects are conducted. (NOTE: There is no individual web page for this component of the museum.)

Online citation & full-text databases

  • AATA (Art and Archaeology Technical Abstracts)
    Covers publications 1932 – present. Online version of Art and Archaeology Technical Abstracts. Includes IIC Abstracts and other abstracts from the Fogg Art Museum (Harvard) and the Freer Gallery of Art (Washington, DC). Indexes journals, conference proceedings, monographs, reviews, and dissertations in the field of conservation of cultural heritage.
     
  • AMIEN: The Art Materials Information and Education Network
    Information about artists' materials.
     
  • Art Full Text (including Art Abstracts)
    Covers publications 1984 – present. Abstracts available from 1994. Full text coverage varies with journal title. Wide-ranging index to Western-language journal articles, book reviews and images in mainstream archaeology, architecture, conservation and  "fine" and "decorative" arts periodicals. All geographical areas and all periods (ancient – contemporary).
     
  • BCIN (Conservation Information Network, Canadian Heritage Information Network)
    Covers publications mid-1960s - present. Indexes journal articles, monographs, exhibition catalogues, conference proceedings, and collections of essays on the technology and conservation of buildings, and archaeological and art objects. Includes Art & Archaeology Technical Abstracts, 1955-1997. Note: Updated irregularly.
     
  • Filippo Baldinucci’s Vocabolario Toscano dell'Arte del Disegno
    Electronic version of Filippo Baldinucci’s Vocabolario toscano dell,arte del disegno ...: con la notizia de, nomi e qualità delle gioie, metalli, pietre dure, marmi, pietre tenere, sassi, legnami, colori, strumenti, et ogn, altra materia, che servir possa, tanto alla costruzione di edificj e loro ornato, quanto alla stessa pittura e scultura (Firenze: Santi Franchi, 1691). An art- and architecture-focused precursor to the Vocabolario della Crusca, Baldinucci’s dictionary is an excellent place for research into the history of Italian art and technology terminology, especially terms relating to practices and techniques.
     
  • Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA, Getty Research Institute, Los Angeles)
    Note: Covers publications ca. 1975 – 2007 only. Abstracts also available. Index to Western-language journal articles, book reviews, monographs, dissertations, essays and exhibition catalogues on (mostly) European and N. American art and architectural history, ca. 300 C.E. - present. Conservation is also included; History of Photography is excluded.
     
  • Cameo (Conservation and Art Materials Encyclopedia Online, Museum of Fine Arts, Boston)
    Materials database covering historic and contemporary materials used in the production and conservation of art, architecture, and archaeology.  Also provides access to a directory of conservation-related organizations as well as information on Forbes’ pigments.
     
  • CoOL (Conservation Online, Foundation of the American Institute for Conservation)
    Edited by Walter Henry & John Burke. Wide-ranging forum for conservation information.
     
  • Getty Conservation Institute (GCI, Los Angeles)
    Access to conservation publications in PDF format, and links to GCI’s periodical literature.  Includes a database of project bibliographies on various subjects within the field of conservation.
     
  • Oxford-Grove Dictionary of Art (Oxford Art Online)
    Full-text extended essays (and bibliographies) on most aspects of the art world. Frequent updates. All geographical areas and all periods.
     
  • WorldCat
    Massive union catalogue of countless libraries worldwide. Useful for finding books and archival materials beyond Oxford.