Skip to main content

Socio-Legal Studies: Journal Articles

Subjects: Criminology, Law, Sociology

Legal Periodicals

If you are focused on legal issues then a specialist legal database could be the best resource.

Large database of UK, US and international legal materials.

Journals, U.S. legal materials and classic legal texts.

Primary and secondary legal materials from the UK, EU, USA and many other jurisdictions.

Indexes to Legal Periodicals

A subject index to selected international and comparative law periodicals and collections of essays.

Index to Legal Periodicals and Books

Provides complete coverage of the most important English language legal information, with international coverage of scholarly articles, symposia, jurisdictional surveys, court decisions, legislation, books, book reviews and more.

Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective: 1908-1981

A retrospective database that indexes over 750 legal periodicals published in the United States, Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, Australia and New Zealand. Coverage also includes: annual surveys of laws by jurisdiction; annual surveys of federal court cases; yearbooks and annual institutes.

Legal Working Papers

The bepress Legal Repository offers working papers and pre-prints from scholars and professionals at top law schools around the world. Social Science Research Network contains legal working papers archive.

ProQuest Abstracts & Indexes

For structured literature searching you might try a database with a relevant subject focus such as:

National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) Abstracts Database ⋄⋄⋄  Social Services Abstracts  ⋄⋄⋄  Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA) ⋄⋄⋄  PAIS Index ⋄⋄⋄  Sociological Abstracts.

National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) Abstracts Database

Covers literature related to research, policy and practice in criminal and juvenile justice and drug control, including federal, state and local government reports, research reports, journal articles, books, audiovisual presentations and unpublished research.
Subject coverage
  • Alternatives to incarceration
  • Corrections
  • Crime deterrence and prevention
  • Criminal justice statistics
  • Drug policy
  • Juvenile justice
  • Law enforcement
  • Police training
  • Probation and parole
  • Victims of crime

Citation searching

For citation searching, i.e. finding out what articles have cited an article or book after publication go to -

  • SCOPUS for citation searching for articles published after 1996
  • Social Science Citation Index - provides bibliographic references to significant items from over 1,400 journals in the behavioural and social sciences.
  • Journal Citation Reports - enables you to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from approximately

JSTOR

A popular archive of scholarly journals containing articles in full text, some as far back as the 1880s.

Law & Society

Loading

Guide: Alerts & TOCs

ZETOC logo

Provides access to the British Library's Electronic Table of Contents of current journals and conference proceedings.
You can Search for citations of journal articles and conference proceedings; set up, modify and delete email Alert; or set up RSS feeds for journals.
The Journal Tables of Contents service makes it easy to keep up-to-date with newly published scholarly material by pulling together a database of tables of contents from scholarly journals and providing a convenient single "one stop shop" interface to these TOCs.