Skip to main content

Engineering: Keeping up-to-date

Subjects: Engineering, Patents

Keeping Up-to-Date with IEEE Xplore

In IEEE Xplore, you can create an individual personal account that allows you to set up alerts to inform you when a new IEEE journal issue has been released, a standard is updated, or new conference material has been added. You can also create alerts from saved searches to inform you when new items in your area of interest have been added.

See the following IEEE Xplore tutorials for more information:

TOC & Alerts

Want to be alerted about new journal issues and Tables of Contents?

Zetoc provides access to the British Library's Electronic Table of Contents of current journals and conference proceedings. You can search for citations of journal articles and conference proceedings; set up, modify, and delete email alerts; and set up RSS feeds for journals.

The Journal Tables of Contents service makes it easy for academics, researchers, and students to keep up-to-date with newly published scholarly material by enabling them to find, display, store, combine, and reuse thousands of journal tables of contents from multiple publishers.

Article Alerts

Search Alerts

Many bibliographic databases allow you to set search alerts which will automatically inform you of new publications issued on topics that are of interest to you.

To set up a search alert you will normally have to take 4 steps:

  1. Set up a personal account on the database you wish to use, this will allow you save searches and alerts.
  2. Create your search and run it to check the results.
  3. Save the search as an alert.
  4. Set up the details of the alert by indicating how you would like to receive the alert (via E-mail or RSS feed) and with what frequency.

Citation Alerts

Citation alerts can be set to automatically notify you when a particular research article or conference paper is cited by a new publication appearing in a bibliographic database.

Want to know who is citing you?

Some databases also allow you to set up citation alerts to an author rather than a single publication. You can use citation alerting to help you keep track of who is citing your own work. Citation alerts can be set up on scientific literature databases such as SCOPUS and Web of Science.

Keeping up-to-date with the RSL

You can keep up with developments in services and resources at the RSL in several ways.

What is RSS?

RSS feed stands for Really Simple Syndication or Rich Site Summary.

You will need a RSS reader or aggregator such as The Old Reader or Feedly to display news and updates from selected websites.

You can subscribe to RSS feeds from databases, e-journals, and websites. To subscribe to a feed, click on the RSS icon, and copy and paste the URL into your RSS reader.

Disclaimer: We do not take responsibility for the content of external web sites.