Skip to main content

African Studies: Journals

List of African Studies journals and abstracts

A list of key international academic journals is available on Wikipedia.  The African Studies Centre (University of Leiden) also produces a quarterly list of abstracts for journal arrticles and edited works.  This now includes the Library of Congress's Quarterly Index of African periodical literature (1991-2011) The link is below.

Finding journals

The Bodleian Libraries, the Weston Library in particular, hold a wide range of key printed journals for African Studies including Journal of Contemporary African History. West Africa, and Review of African Political Economy.  To find both printed and electronic journal titles search SOLO, Oxford Libraries' catalogue.

Finding journal articles

Use the OxLIP+ databases to find journal articles on a country or subject.  Key databases for African studies are:

  • Social science databases on the Proquest Platform including:
    • Sociological Abstracts: index and abstracts of journal articles and papers in sociology
    • Public Affairs Information Service (PAIS): public policy articles and reports
    • ASSIA: applied social science
  • IBSS: includes references to journal articles dating back to 1951 within anthropology, economics, politics and sociology and a range of interdisciplinary subjects. IBSS is especially strong on international material with over 50 per cent of journals indexed published outside the US or UK.
  • Historical Abstracts: Published since 1954, Historical Abstracts is the leading bibliography for historical study. Currently indexes over 2,000 journals internationally published journals. 

Google Scholar is also an easy way of finding journal articles.  See the tips below.

  Google Scholar tips

Here are some tips to get the best out of Google Scholar:

  • Use as many relevant keywords as possible when searching.
  • If you have a phrase "put it in quotation marks"
  • Use a minus sign before a word to exclude it from the search.
  • On campus you will have links to 'Find it at Oxford', off campus you can activate these by searching for Oxford on the Library Links option in Scholar Preferences.
  • If you use Endnote or Refworks you can set these as your bibliographic manager preference in Scholar Preferences.

 Remote access

Ways to access subscription resources off campus:

  1. Single Sign-On (SSO). Sign on to SOLO, OxLIP+ or your University email and your browser retains the sign on. This allows you to access most e-resources as if you were on campus. 
  2. VPN (Virtual Private Network). Register with OUCS to log on to the network via VPN. Once logged on you can access all e-resources as if you were on campus.

For further information see the Bodleian Libraries remote access guide.

African Journal Archive

African Journal Archive collated by Sabinet.