Skip to main content

Linguistics: Articles & Working Papers

A guide to linguistics collections and e-resources
Subjects: Linguistics

Key resources

OxLip+ contains subscription e-resources

MLA  Bibliography Indexes journals, books, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies from 1926 to present. Includes general and applied linguistics.

Linguistics and Language Behaviour Abstracts Covers general linguistics, phonology and phonetics. Covers 1960 to present.

ZETOC The British Library's Electronic Table of Contents of around 20,000 current journals and around 16,000 conference proceedings in various areas including linguistics. Covers 1993 to present.

Searching for articles

Articles from journals or conference proceedings can be found various ways. 

1. Through the Articles & More tab on SOLO: articles can be found by article title, author or keyword. This is very useful for known item searches. It will provide the reader with the full text of the article. Please NOTE: only articles available at Oxford AND available in electronic format can be found this way.

2. Through bibliographic databases (see box on the left): bibliographic databases index a large number of journals and conference proceedings, including titles that are not available at Oxford. These databases are especially useful for subject searches. The search results are citations of article titles. In order to retrieve the article, click the 'find it at Oxford' button for the full text or search for the journal title on SOLO.

If the journal is not on SOLO, search www.copac.co.uk (combined catalogues of UK universities) or WorldCat (catalogue of the major university libraries around the world). You may request a photocopy/scan of the article through InterLibrary Loan.

For more comprehensive search results, it may be advisable to use all of these databases.  Online search engines may be used to find articles in full text, but please be aware that only electronically available publications are listed, so you may miss out on (older) materials that are published in print only.

Subject Guide

Johanneke Sytsema's picture
Johanneke Sytsema
Contact:
Subject Consultant for Linguistics, Dutch and Frisian
Taylor Institution Library
St Giles'
Oxford
1OX 3NA
01865 (2)78159
Website / Blog Page