US Government Publications: Censuses/Statistics

The US Serial Set is a rich collection of primary source material detailing all aspects of American history. This resource is invaluable to the research of US political, social, cultural, military, and ethnic history, as well as international relations, explorations, genealogy, commerce, industrial development, and more. Its contents come not only from the US Congress, but also include key Executive Department publications. Beginning with volume 1 in the first session of the 15th Congress (1817), the Readex US Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1994 contains all publications from the 15th through to the 103rd Congresses. The Serial Set 1994- continues on the GPO Access website.

A selection of high-quality, very detailed election data sets, compiled from official sources relating to U.S. Representative General - County and Congressional District Level Votes for the election of 2004. This contains a breakdown of voting by State, County, Town and Congressional District. Graphs, statistics and candidate names are also included.

The files include state, county, and town-level FIPS codes. Access and use is restricted to members of the University.

These data were created as part of ‘Dave Leip’s Atlas of U.S. Presidential Elections’. A web based resource that disseminates aggregated data in the form of graphs and maps for U.S presidential, senatorial and gubernatorial elections.

A selection of high-quality, very detailed election data sets, compiled from official sources relating to U.S. Representative General - County and Congressional District Level Votes for the election of 2006. This contains a breakdown of voting by State, County, Town and Congressional District. Graphs, statistics and candidate names are also included.

The files include state, county, and town-level FIPS codes. Access and use is restricted to members of the University.

These data were created as part of ‘Dave Leip’s Atlas of U.S. Presidential Elections’. A web based resource that disseminates aggregated data in the form of graphs and maps for U.S presidential, senatorial and gubernatorial elections.

A selection of high-quality, very detailed election data sets, compiled from official sources relating to U.S. Representative General - County and Congressional District Level Votes for the election of 2008. This contains a breakdown of voting by State, County, Town and Congressional District. Graphs, statistics and candidate names are also included.

The files include state, county, and town-level FIPS codes. Access and use is restricted to members of the University.

These data were created as part of ‘Dave Leip’s Atlas of U.S. Presidential Elections’. A web based resource that disseminates aggregated data in the form of graphs and maps for U.S presidential, senatorial and gubernatorial elections.

A searchable resource of unique public opinion data and analysis compiled by Gallup, Inc. Includes answers to more than 125,000 questions, and responses from more than 3.5 million people interviewed in the United States since 1935. Analysis of new data and historical trends at country, state and city levels is available via the Gallup World Poll, Gallup Daily Tracking and Gallup Brain databases in aggregated form. There is no access to microdata. Topic areas include:

• economic confidence
• employment
• entrepreneurial energy
• confidence in leadership
• confidence in military and police
• religion
• food access
• corruption
• freedom of media
• life evaluations

Global tracking data is also available from outside the United States since 2005 for an additional 160 countries. Users are able to create custom tables and export data.

Subscription is limited to only one user at a time, please close your browser when finished to allow others to connect.

Roper iPoll is the most comprehensive, up-to-date source for US nationwide public opinion available today. A full-text retrieval system, the iPoll online database is organized at the question-level, providing the tools to sift through nearly a half million questions asked on national public opinion surveys since 1935 and updated daily. NOTE: You will need to create an account for yourself the first time that you use the service.

Alternative name: inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research
 

ICPSR holds the world's largest collection of computer-readable social science data. In order to use this service you will need to create a MyData account.

Logging in with your MyData account and agreeing to the ICPSR Responsible Use Statement authorizes you to download data files from that point on. On subsequent visits to the site, when you begin to download a dataset, you will be asked to enter your e-mail address and MyData password.

Historical Statistics of the United States has long been the standard source for quantitative indicators of American history. It has not been revised, however, since the Bicentennial Edition, which was published in 1975 and provided data through 1970. The period since then has witnessed an explosion of quantitative scholarship and the general expansion of the government's statistical record keeping. By one estimate, more than three fourths of the data output of the U.S. government and more than 80 percent of the historical data series generated by scholars have been produced since 1970. No subject area and few data series have remained untouched by this phenomenal growth of the American quantitative record.

The revised, updated, and expanded Millennial Edition contains considerably more information than its immediate predecessor: five volumes rather than two, more than twice as many pages of data and documentation, and a tripling of the number of data series: 37,339 in the new edition. This expansion occurred along several dimensions. Most series from the previous edition were extended by roughly thirty years, and the coverage of most topics was enhanced. More than a dozen new topics were added: American Indians, slavery, outlying areas, poverty, non-profit organizations, and the Confederate States of America, to list a few examples. Finally, the chapters in the new edition are preceded by essays that introduce the quantitative history of their subject, provide a guide to the sources, and offer expert advice on the reliability of the data and the limits that might be placed on their interpretation.