US Government Publications: Foreign relations

HeinOnline includes five major collections:

The Law Journal Library includes over 500 U.S., U.K., Australian and International Law Journals. For most journals the date coverage starts very early (in many cases at the first issue). However the most recent editions (within the last calendar year) are sometime unavailable due to licensing restrictions. HeinOnline makes these journals available on a rolling yearly basis.

The Treaties and Agreements Library includes all U.S. treaties and agreements including those in force, expired or yet to be published.

The U.S. Supreme Court Library includes all U.S. Supreme Court opinions as published in the U.S. Reports

The Federal Register 1936-1995, and indexes to the register.

Legal Classics Library. Full text of over 100 legal texts including Blackstone's Commentaries (1803), Cardozo's Growth of the Law (1924), and Story's first edition of Commentaries on the Constitution of the United States (1833). Provincial Statutes of Canada includes Provincial Statutes for ten of the Canadian provinces. Contains public and private acts passed by Canadian provincial governments. Current, revised, and historical content is now available for Alberta, British Columbia, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, and Ontario. Historical and revised content only is available for Manitoba, Newfoundland and Labrador, Prince Edward Island, Quebec, and Saskatchewan.

All content consists of scanned images of the original printed editions. This allows you to view the content as it originally appeared in print complete with page numbers and pictures.

To save or print articles from HeinOnline choose PRINT OPTIONS followed by DOWNLOAD AS PDF. You will then be able to print out and/or save articles using Adobe Acrobat Reader.

The US Declassified Documents Online provides online access to over 500,000 pages of previously classified government documents. Covering major international events from the Cold War to the Vietnam War and beyond, this single source enables users to locate key information underpinning studies in international relations, American studies, United States foreign and domestic policy studies, journalism and more.

The Digital National Security Archive is the most comprehensive collection available of significant primary documents central to U.S. foreign and military policy since 1945. Over 60,000 of the most important, declassified documents - totaling more than 450,000 pages - are included in the database. Many are published now for the first time.

The National Security Archive is a non-profit research institute and library in Washington, D.C., which provides unprecedented public access to declassified government documents obtained through extensive use of the U.S. Freedom of Information Act (FOIA).

DNSA consists of the following collections, each focused on a single topic:

• Afghanistan: The Making of U.S. Policy, 1973–1990
• Argentina, 1975-1980: The Making of U.S. Human Rights Policy
• The Berlin Crisis, 1958–1962
• Chile and the United States: U.S. Policy toward Democracy, Dictatorship, and Human Rights, 1970–1990
• China and the United States: From Hostility to Engagement, 1960–1998
• CIA Covert Operations: From Carter to Obama, 1977-2010
• CIA Covert Operations II: The Year of Intelligence, 1975
• CIA Covert Operations III: From Kennedy to Nixon, 1961-1974
• CIA Covert Operations IV: The Eisenhower Years, 1953-1961
• CIA Family Jewels Indexed
• Colombia and the United States: Political Violence, Narcotics, and Human Rights, 1948-2010
• Cuba and the U.S.: The Declassified History of Negotiations to Normalize Relations, 1959-2016
• The Cuban Missile Crisis, 1962
• The Cuban Missile Crisis: 50th Anniversary Update
• The Cuban Missile Crisis Revisited: An International Collection, From Bay of Pigs to Nuclear Brink
• Death Squads, Guerrilla War, Covert Ops, and Genocide: Guatemala and the United States, 1954-1999
• Donald Rumsfeld's Snowflakes, Part I: The Pentagon and U.S. Foreign Policy, 2001-2003
• Donald Rumsfeld's Snowflakes, Part II: The Pentagon and U.S. Foreign Policy, 2004-2006
• Electronic Surveillance and the National Security Agency: From Shamrock to Snowden
• El Salvador: The Making of U.S. Policy, 1977–1984
• El Salvador: War, Peace, and Human Rights, 1980–1994
• Iran: The Making of U.S. Policy, 1977–1980
• The Iran-Contra Affair: The Making of a Scandal, 1983–1988
• Iraqgate: Saddam Hussein, U.S. Policy and the Prelude to the Persian Gulf War, 1980–1994
• Japan and the United States: Diplomatic, Security, and Economic Relations, 1960–1976
• Japan and the United States: Diplomatic, Security, and Economic Relations, 1977–1992
• Japan and the United States: Diplomatic, Security, and Economic Relations, Part III, 1961-2000
• The Kissinger Conversations, Supplement: A Verbatim Record of U.S. Diplomacy, 1969–1977
• The Kissinger Conversations, Supplement II: A Verbatim Record of U.S. Diplomacy, 1969-1977
• The Kissinger Telephone Conversations: A Verbatim Record of U.S. Diplomacy, 1969-1977
• The Kissinger Transcripts: A Verbatim Record of U.S. Diplomacy, 1969-1977
• Mexico-United States Counternarcotics Policy, 1969-2013
• The National Security Agency: Organization and Operations, 1945-2009
• Nicaragua: The Making of U.S. Policy, 1978–1990
• Peru: Human Rights, Drugs and Democracy, 1980-2000
• The Philippines: U.S. Policy During the Marcos Years, 1965–1986
• The President's Daily Brief: Kennedy, Johnson, and the CIA, 1961-1969
• The President's Daily Brief: Nixon, Ford, and the CIA, 1969-1977
• Presidential Directives on National Security, Part I: From Truman to Clinton
• Presidential Directives on National Security, Part II: From Truman to George W. Bush
• South Africa: The Making of U.S. Policy, 1962–1989
• The Soviet Estimate: U.S. Analysis of the Soviet Union, 1947–1991
• Soviet-U.S. Relations: The End of the Cold War, 1985-1991
• Targeting Iraq, Part 1: Planning, Invasion, and Occupation, 1997-2004
• Terrorism and U.S. Policy, 1968–2002
• U.S. Climate Change Diplomacy: From the Montreal Protocol to the Paris Agreement, 1981-2015
• U.S. Espionage and Intelligence, 1947–1996
• U.S. Intelligence and China: Collection, Analysis and Covert Action
• The U.S. Intelligence Community: Organization, Operations and Management, 1947–1989
• The U.S. Intelligence Community After 9/11
• U.S. Intelligence on Weapons of Mass Destruction: From World War II to Iraq
• U.S. Military Uses of Space, 1945–1991
• U.S. Nuclear History, 1969-1976: Weapons, Arms Control, and War Plans in an Age of Strategic Parity
• U.S. Nuclear History: Nuclear Arms and Politics in the Missile Age, 1955–1968
• U.S. Nuclear Nonproliferation 2, Part I: From Atoms for Peace to the NPT, 1954-1968
• U.S. Nuclear Nonproliferation Policy, 1945–1991
• U.S. Policy in the Vietnam War, Part I: 1954-1968
• U.S. Policy in the Vietnam War, Part II: 1969-1975
• U.S. Policy toward Iran: From the Revolution to the Nuclear Accord, 1978-2015
• The United States and the Two Koreas, Part II, 1969-2010
• The United States and the Two Koreas (1969-2000)

The Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Report has been the United States' principal record of political and historical open source intelligence for nearly 70 years.

Oxford has access is to the following geographical collections:

Middle East and North Africa, 1974–1987

Near East and South Asia, 1987–1996

South Asia, 1980–1987

Sub-Saharan Africa, 1974–1980 and Africa, 1987–1996

Eastern Europe, 1974–1996

Latin America, 1974-1996

Soviet Union, 1974-1991

Central Eurasia, 1992-1996

Western Europe, 1974-1996

The original mission of the FBIS was to monitor, record, transcribe, and translate intercepted radio broadcasts from foreign governments, official news services, and clandestine broadcasts from occupied territories. FBIS Daily Reports, 1974–1996 constitutes a unique archive of transcripts of foreign broadcasts and news that provides insight into the second half of the 20th century; many of these materials are firsthand reports of events as they occurred.

FBIS Daily Reports, 1974–1996 consist of translated broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals, and government statements from nations around the globe. These media sources were monitored in their languages of origin, translated into English, and issued by an agency of the US government.

Source Library: Private Collection of Jim Thebaut (6,000 pages)

For almost fifty years, the United States and the Soviet Union were engaged in the Cold War. This global stalemate emerged after both nations had been allies against Hitler during World War II. This collection of oral histories from the "behind-the-scenes" decision and policy makers answers a wide range of popular and academic questions surrounding this long period of political and military tension:

•What scientific and technological developments fuelled the arms race that characterized the Cold War?

•What new institutions were created by the Cold War, and how were existing institutions reshaped by it?

•How did the Cold War condition society and culture?

•How did it shape the foreign policies of the U.S. and the Soviet Union?

•What did--and does--"the end of the Cold War" mean for citizens in the United States and the former Soviet Union?

Alternative name: Foreign Office Confidential Print: North American 1824-1961
 

This resource gives full-text access to a selection of TNA Colonial Office and Foreign Office papers, reports, dispatches, weekly summaries, etc. The collection covers a broad sweep of history from 1824-1961, taking in the USA, Canada and the Caribbean. There are also some items that cover South America. All items marked ‘Confidential Print’ were printed and circulated immediately to leading officials in the Foreign Office, to the Cabinet, and to Heads of British missions abroad.

CO 880/1-32 spans the years 1839-1914 and is primarily focused on Canada. It includes topics such as the birth of the railways, fisheries, border disputes, the Hudson’s Bay Company, clergy reserves, trade, Treaty of Washington, Native Americans, shipping.

CO 884/1-38 covers the years 1826-1961 and focuses on the Caribbean. Topics such as slavery and apprenticeship, trade, economy, agriculture, boundary disputes, the Morant Bay rebellion, troops, military expenditure, indentured labour, health and disease, finance, and communication are all covered.

FO 414/1-278 covers a vast array of subjects from the years 1824-1941 including: Prohibition, Treaty of Friendship and Commerce between US and Germany, Conference on Electrical communications, Canadian claim to territories, Liquor smuggling, Reports on the Ku Klux Klan and its declining membership and influence, The League of Nations, World War II, etc.

FO 461/1-13 – covers both North and South America over the time period 1942-1956, and includes the text of President Roosevelt's broadcast address regarding the Japanese attack on Pearl Harbour and the entrance of the USA into the war, USA and WWII, Anglo-US co-operation in WWII, Nazi activities in Chile, Columbia and WWII, Financial situation in Venezuela.

FO 462/1-10 covers the U.S.A. from 1947 to 1956. Topics covered include the aftermath of World War II, the rise of Communism, McCarthyism, The atomic bomb, Strikes, US policy towards China, Racial desegregation in