Oxford LibGuides: US Government Publications: Executive/Presidential

Latest Presidency resources saved on diigo

Glossary

Budget of the United States Government - a collection of documents which provide the President's proposals for a given fiscal financial year. Includes details such as the condition of the Treasury of the previous fiscal year, and the projected condition in the current and future fiscal years. The budget comes out before the Economic Report, and must be submitted to Congress by the first Monday of February (Budget and Accounting Act of 1921).

CFR (Code of Federal Regulations) - presents the official and complete text of agency regulations in an organized fashion in a single publication (updated by the amendments in the Daily Federal Register). Separated into 50 titles covering broad subject areas.

Daily/Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents - published since 1993, these are official publications of materials released by the White House Press Secretary.

Economic Report of the President - written by the Council of Economic Advisors, it provides an overview of the nation's economic progress, alongside planned goals in areas such as employment and federal government budgets, alongside a program for reaching key objectives.

FR (Federal Register) - the official journal of the United States Government. Published every Federal working day, it provides legal notice of administrative rules and notices and Presidential documents in a comprehensive, uniform manner. Includes Federal Agency Regulations, Executive Orders, Proclamations and other Presidential Documents.

Messages and Papers of the President - an eleven-volume series comprising proclamations, special messages, and inauguration speeches from George Washington to Howard Taft.

OMB - Stands for Office of Management and Budget, which publishes the Budget of the United States Government.

Presidential Libraries - formally begun in 1939, these are 15 libraries administered by the federal government, storing the papers and records of each President. Some presidents pre-1939 have unofficial libraries/collections which are outside the federal government's control.

Public Papers of the Presidents - contains the speeches and papers of the American presidents post Taft.

Presidential Papers and records

HeinOnline
Contains the entire Messages and Papers of the President and Public Papers of the Presidents. Also includes related collections, such as Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents, the Executive Privilege and US Presidential Impeachment libraries.
Alternative names: Hein Online ; HOL

HeinOnline includes five major collections:
The Law Journal Library includes over 500 U.S., U.K., Australian and International Law Journals. For most journals the date coverage starts very early (in many cases at the first issue). However the most recent editions (within the last calendar year) are sometime unavailable due to licensing restrictions. HeinOnline makes these journals available on a rolling yearly basis.
The Treaties and Agreements Library includes all U.S. treaties and agreements including those in force, expired or yet to be published.
The U.S. Supreme Court Library includes all U.S. Supreme Court opinions as published in the U.S. Reports
The Federal Register 1936-1995, and indexes to the register.
Legal Classics Library. Full text of over 100 legal texts including Blackstone's Commentaries (1803), Cardozo's Growth of the Law (1924), and Story's first edition of Commentaries on the Constitution of the United States (1833). Provincial Statutes of Canada includes Provincial Statutes for ten of the Canadian provinces. Contains public and private acts passed by Canadian provincial governments. Current, revised, and historical content is now available for Alberta, British Columbia, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, and Ontario. Historical and revised content only is available for Manitoba, Newfoundland and Labrador, Prince Edward Island, Quebec, and Saskatchewan.
All content consists of scanned images of the original printed editions. This allows you to view the content as it originally appeared in print complete with page numbers and pictures.
To save or print articles from HeinOnline choose PRINT OPTIONS followed by DOWNLOAD AS PDF. You will then be able to print out and/or save articles using Adobe Acrobat Reader.

American Presidency Project
Online resource that has consolidated, coded and organized the Messages and Papers of the Presidents (Washington-Taft), Public Papers of the Presidents (Hoover-Bush) and the Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents (Clinton-Obama)

American Founding Era
Digital versions of the published papers of several major figures of the Early American Republic. The collection includes the papers of George Washington, Thomas Jefferson, James Madison, John Adams and his family.
Digital versions of the published papers of several major figures of the Early American Republic. The collection includes the papers of George Washington, Thomas Jefferson, James Madison, John Adams and his family, and Dolley Madison, as well as The Documentary History of the Ratification of the Constitution.

Presidential papers at the Library of Congress
The Library of Congress holds the papers of 23 presidents from George Washington to Calvin Coolidge, all of which have been digitized and are now available online.
NARA Presidential Libraries
Provides information on the Presdential Libraries associated with the American National Archives.

Presidential Recordings Digital Edition
Between 1940 and 1973, six consecutive American presidents secretly taped thousands of their meeting and telephone conversations. The Presidential Recordings Program (PRP) makes these once-secret tapes accessible via their Presidential Recordings Digital Edition (PDRE).
The PRDE includes digitised versions of all PRP transcripts previously published with W. W. Norton. These include eight volumes of Johnson transcripts (2003–2011) and three volumes of Kennedy transcripts (2001). PRDE also includes born-digital transcript volumes on Nixon’s First Week of Taping, Nixon and Arms Control, and Nixon’s Telephone Tapes: 1971.

Executive records

US Declassified Documents Online
Alternative names: DDRS ; Declassified Documents Reference System US

The US Declassified Documents Online provides online access to over 500,000 pages of previously classified government documents. Covering major international events from the Cold War to the Vietnam War and beyond, this single source enables users to locate key information underpinning studies in international relations, American studies, United States foreign and domestic policy studies, journalism and more.
Digital National Security Archive
Alternative name: DNSA

The Digital National Security Archive is the most comprehensive collection available of significant primary documents central to U.S. foreign and military policy since 1945. Over 60,000 of the most important, declassified documents - totaling more than 450,000 pages - are included in the database. Many are published now for the first time.
The National Security Archive is a non-profit research institute and library in Washington, D.C., which provides unprecedented public access to declassified government documents obtained through extensive use of the U.S. Freedom of Information Act (FOIA).
DNSA consists of the following collections, each focused on a single topic:
- Afghanistan: The Making of U.S. Policy, 1973–1990
- Argentina, 1975-1980: The Making of U.S. Human Rights Policy
- The Berlin Crisis, 1958–1962
- Chile and the United States: U.S. Policy toward Democracy, Dictatorship, and Human Rights, 1970–1990
- China and the United States: From Hostility to Engagement, 1960–1998
- CIA Covert Operations: From Carter to Obama, 1977-2010
- CIA Covert Operations II: The Year of Intelligence, 1975
- CIA Covert Operations III: From Kennedy to Nixon, 1961-1974
- CIA Covert Operations IV: The Eisenhower Years, 1953-1961
- CIA Family Jewels Indexed
- Colombia and the United States: Political Violence, Narcotics, and Human Rights, 1948-2010
- Cuba and the U.S.: The Declassified History of Negotiations to Normalize Relations, 1959-2016
- The Cuban Missile Crisis, 1962
- The Cuban Missile Crisis: 50th Anniversary Update
- The Cuban Missile Crisis Revisited: An International Collection, From Bay of Pigs to Nuclear Brink
- Death Squads, Guerrilla War, Covert Ops, and Genocide: Guatemala and the United States, 1954-1999
- Donald Rumsfeld's Snowflakes, Part I: The Pentagon and U.S. Foreign Policy, 2001-2003
- Donald Rumsfeld's Snowflakes, Part II: The Pentagon and U.S. Foreign Policy, 2004-2006
- Electronic Surveillance and the National Security Agency: From Shamrock to Snowden
- El Salvador: The Making of U.S. Policy, 1977–1984
- El Salvador: War, Peace, and Human Rights, 1980–1994
- Iran: The Making of U.S. Policy, 1977–1980
- The Iran-Contra Affair: The Making of a Scandal, 1983–1988
- Iraqgate: Saddam Hussein, U.S. Policy and the Prelude to the Persian Gulf War, 1980–1994
- Japan and the United States: Diplomatic, Security, and Economic Relations, 1960–1976
- Japan and the United States: Diplomatic, Security, and Economic Relations, 1977–1992
- Japan and the United States: Diplomatic, Security, and Economic Relations, Part III, 1961-2000
- The Kissinger Conversations, Supplement: A Verbatim Record of U.S. Diplomacy, 1969–1977
- The Kissinger Conversations, Supplement II: A Verbatim Record of U.S. Diplomacy, 1969-1977
- The Kissinger Telephone Conversations: A Verbatim Record of U.S. Diplomacy, 1969-1977
- The Kissinger Transcripts: A Verbatim Record of U.S. Diplomacy, 1969-1977
- Mexico-United States Counternarcotics Policy, 1969-2013
- The National Security Agency: Organization and Operations, 1945-2009
- Nicaragua: The Making of U.S. Policy, 1978–1990
- Peru: Human Rights, Drugs and Democracy, 1980-2000
- The Philippines: U.S. Policy During the Marcos Years, 1965–1986
- The President's Daily Brief: Kennedy, Johnson, and the CIA, 1961-1969
- The President's Daily Brief: Nixon, Ford, and the CIA, 1969-1977
- Presidential Directives on National Security, Part I: From Truman to Clinton
- Presidential Directives on National Security, Part II: From Truman to George W. Bush
- South Africa: The Making of U.S. Policy, 1962–1989
- The Soviet Estimate: U.S. Analysis of the Soviet Union, 1947–1991
- Soviet-U.S. Relations: The End of the Cold War, 1985-1991
- Targeting Iraq, Part 1: Planning, Invasion, and Occupation, 1997-2004
- Terrorism and U.S. Policy, 1968–2002
- U.S. Climate Change Diplomacy: From the Montreal Protocol to the Paris Agreement, 1981-2015
- U.S. Espionage and Intelligence, 1947–1996
- U.S. Intelligence and China: Collection, Analysis and Covert Action
- The U.S. Intelligence Community: Organization, Operations and Management, 1947–1989
- The U.S. Intelligence Community After 9/11
- U.S. Intelligence on Weapons of Mass Destruction: From World War II to Iraq
- U.S. Military Uses of Space, 1945–1991
- U.S. Nuclear History, 1969-1976: Weapons, Arms Control, and War Plans in an Age of Strategic Parity
- U.S. Nuclear History: Nuclear Arms and Politics in the Missile Age, 1955–1968
- U.S. Nuclear Nonproliferation 2, Part I: From Atoms for Peace to the NPT, 1954-1968
- U.S. Nuclear Nonproliferation Policy, 1945–1991
- U.S. Policy in the Vietnam War, Part I: 1954-1968
- U.S. Policy in the Vietnam War, Part II: 1969-1975
- U.S. Policy toward Iran: From the Revolution to the Nuclear Accord, 1978-2015
- The United States and the Two Koreas, Part II, 1969-2010
- The United States and the Two Koreas (1969-2000)

Electronic FOIA Reading Rooms
A list of Electronic Reading Rooms used by Federal agencies for disclosing information requested under the FOIA Act, and other information to provide transparency.
CIA FOIA Electronic Reading Room
View documents released by the CIA through the FOIA and other release programs.
FBI Records: The Vault
The Vault is the FBI's new FOIA Library, containing 6,700 documents and other media that have been scanned from paper into digital copies so you can read them in the comfort of your home or office.

Included here are many new FBI files that have been released to the public but never added to this website; dozens of records previously posted on our site but removed as requests diminished; files from our previous FOIA Library, and new, previously unreleased files.

Highlights include files on key figures or movements in American History (e.g. Martin Luther King).
Homeland Security: Freedom of Information Act Library
DHS regularly posts frequently requested and other categories of records that provide transparency into the agency’s operations.

Some reports and records are held in the VHL. Search SOLO to check if we hold physical copies.

By Department

Department of Defense Annual Reports (1948 to 1996) and Military Branch Budget Justification Books (1980 to 1996)
Historical Office of the Secretary of Defense
Provides historical oversight of the Department of Defense (DOD) alongside reports, such as the Secretary of Defense Annual Reports.
Department of Energy History
The U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) has one of the richest and most diverse histories in the federal government. Although only in existence since 1977, the Department traces its lineage to the Manhattan Project effort to develop the atomic bomb during World War II and to the various energy-related programs that previously had been dispersed throughout various federal agencies.
Department of Homeland Security Publications Library
The Publication Library contains guidance and policy papers, reports, strategies, program regulations, guidelines, brochures and more.
Department of Housing and Urban Development Online Library
Includes publications, the FOIA Reading Room, and historic webpages.
Joint Chiefs of Staff
Includes a historical overview of decisions made by Joint Chiefs of Staff from World War II onwards.
Department of Justice Publications
Includes current and archived publications.
Department of Labor - History
Includes links to narrative history and records of in-depth topics, and further web resources.
ROSAP
Online Repository for Department of Transportation. Includes historical and current publications.
State Department Central Files
Includes digitised copies of the Central Files and the Major-Minor Files.
For most research topics, the central files are the largest and most important category of Department of State records. There is generally at least some documentation in the Department’s central files on almost all topics relating to U.S. foreign policy and relations with other countries. Perhaps most importantly, the central files are the most inclusive and authoritative repository of reporting by American diplomatic and consular posts overseas. In addition, the files include Department of State communications with foreign diplomatic and consular offices in the United States, correspondence with other U.S. Government agencies and the public, and internal memorandums and reports.

By Topic

American Leaders Speak: Recordings from World War I
The Nation's Forum recordings were made between 1918 and 1920 in an effort to preserve the voices of prominent Americans; in most cases, they are the only surviving recordings of a speaker. Includes members of the American cabinet and Democratic and Republican figures debating post WW1 events and the upcoming 1920 election.

Archives of Sexuality and Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940, Part I
This database includes three governmental reports which may be of interest to those studying the AIDs crisis:
In Response to the AIDS Crisis: Records of the National Commission on Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome, 1983-1994
The Bush Administration and the AIDS Crisis
Studies in Global Crisis: The International AIDS/HIV Crisis, Part 1: 1985-1999

The database also includes archival material related to American LGBTQ organisations, newspapers and publications.
This resource spans the sixteenth to twentieth centuries and is the largest digital collection of historical primary source publications relating to the history and study of sex, sexuality, and gender research and gender studies research. Documentation covering disciplines such as social, political, health, and legal issues impacting LGBTQ (lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer) communities around the world are included, as well as rare and unique books on sex and sexuality from the sciences to the humanities to support research and education.
Franklin D. Roosevelt and Race Relations, 1933-1945 (Archives Unbound)
This new series contains a collection of essential materials for the study of the early development of the Civil Rights Movement-concerned with the issues of Lynching, Segregation, Race riots, and Employment discrimination. FDR's record on civil rights has been the subject of much controversy. This new collection from FDR's Official File provides insight into his political style and presents an instructive example of how he balanced moral preference with political realities. This collection includes essential materials for the study of the early development of the Civil Rights Movement. From the collections of the Franklin D. Roosevelt Library, the documents range from 1933-1945.

Economic Report of the President (1995-Present)
Hosted by Govinfo, the Economic Report of the President is an annual report written by the Chairman of the Council of Economic Advisers.

HeinOnline
Alternative names: Hein Online ; HOL

HeinOnline includes five major collections:
The Law Journal Library includes over 500 U.S., U.K., Australian and International Law Journals. For most journals the date coverage starts very early (in many cases at the first issue). However the most recent editions (within the last calendar year) are sometime unavailable due to licensing restrictions. HeinOnline makes these journals available on a rolling yearly basis.
The Treaties and Agreements Library includes all U.S. treaties and agreements including those in force, expired or yet to be published.
The U.S. Supreme Court Library includes all U.S. Supreme Court opinions as published in the U.S. Reports
The Federal Register 1936-1995, and indexes to the register.
Legal Classics Library. Full text of over 100 legal texts including Blackstone's Commentaries (1803), Cardozo's Growth of the Law (1924), and Story's first edition of Commentaries on the Constitution of the United States (1833). Provincial Statutes of Canada includes Provincial Statutes for ten of the Canadian provinces. Contains public and private acts passed by Canadian provincial governments. Current, revised, and historical content is now available for Alberta, British Columbia, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, and Ontario. Historical and revised content only is available for Manitoba, Newfoundland and Labrador, Prince Edward Island, Quebec, and Saskatchewan.
All content consists of scanned images of the original printed editions. This allows you to view the content as it originally appeared in print complete with page numbers and pictures.
To save or print articles from HeinOnline choose PRINT OPTIONS followed by DOWNLOAD AS PDF. You will then be able to print out and/or save articles using Adobe Acrobat Reader.

Budget of the United States Government (1996-Present)
Issued by the Office of Management and Budget (OMB), the Budget of the United States Government is a collection of documents that contains the budget message of the President, information about the President's budget proposals for a given fiscal year, and other budgetary publications that have been issued throughout the fiscal year.
FRASER
FRASER is a digital library of U.S. economic, financial, and banking history—particularly the history of the Federal Reserve System. Includes previous editions of the Budget and Economic Report of the President (1995-).
Treasury Department Publications
The Treasury Department Collection provides a digitized record of official documents of the U.S. Department of the Treasury. The U.S. Government Publishing Office (GPO) and the U.S. Department of the Treasury partnered to make digitized content from the Treasury library available.

United States Government Manual (1936-Present)
The United States Government Manual, the official handbook of the Federal Government, is issued by National Archives' Office of the Federal Register (OFR) and provides information on the agencies of the legislative, judicial, and executive branches. It also includes information on quasi-official agencies; international organizations in which the United States participates; and boards, commissions, and committees.

Federal Register
Official government website for the Federal Register. Search documents up to 1994. Also includes materials organised by type, e.g. Executive Orders.
govinfo
Includes the Code of Federal Regulations (1996-Present) and Federal Register (1936- Present)

HeinOnline
Includes the Code of Federal Regulations (1938-Present) and the Federal Register (1936-Present)
Alternative names: Hein Online ; HOL

HeinOnline includes five major collections:
The Law Journal Library includes over 500 U.S., U.K., Australian and International Law Journals. For most journals the date coverage starts very early (in many cases at the first issue). However the most recent editions (within the last calendar year) are sometime unavailable due to licensing restrictions. HeinOnline makes these journals available on a rolling yearly basis.
The Treaties and Agreements Library includes all U.S. treaties and agreements including those in force, expired or yet to be published.
The U.S. Supreme Court Library includes all U.S. Supreme Court opinions as published in the U.S. Reports
The Federal Register 1936-1995, and indexes to the register.
Legal Classics Library. Full text of over 100 legal texts including Blackstone's Commentaries (1803), Cardozo's Growth of the Law (1924), and Story's first edition of Commentaries on the Constitution of the United States (1833). Provincial Statutes of Canada includes Provincial Statutes for ten of the Canadian provinces. Contains public and private acts passed by Canadian provincial governments. Current, revised, and historical content is now available for Alberta, British Columbia, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, and Ontario. Historical and revised content only is available for Manitoba, Newfoundland and Labrador, Prince Edward Island, Quebec, and Saskatchewan.
All content consists of scanned images of the original printed editions. This allows you to view the content as it originally appeared in print complete with page numbers and pictures.
To save or print articles from HeinOnline choose PRINT OPTIONS followed by DOWNLOAD AS PDF. You will then be able to print out and/or save articles using Adobe Acrobat Reader.

Catalog of US government publications
The US government's finding aid for documents post-1976. Includes direct links to online reports when possible.

Monthly catalog of United States government publications by United States. Superintendent of Documents
Call Number: Ref. Z 1223 .A18
ISBN: 0362-6830
Publication Date: 1951-2000
Print version of the catalog of US Government publications, up to 1957.
CIS index to U.S. Executive Branch documents, 1789-1909 by Congressional Information Service, Inc. Staff (Editor)
Call Number: xZ 7164 .A2 C53 1990
ISBN: 9780886922252
Publication Date: 1991
Finding guide for main historic executive records.

US Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1994 [in progress] (with American State Papers, 1789-1838)
Alternative name: U.S. Congressional Serial Set

The US Serial Set is a rich collection of primary source material detailing all aspects of American history. This resource is invaluable to the research of US political, social, cultural, military, and ethnic history, as well as international relations, explorations, genealogy, commerce, industrial development, and more. Its contents come not only from the US Congress, but also include key Executive Department publications. Beginning with volume 1 in the first session of the 15th Congress (1817), the Readex US Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1994 contains all publications from the 15th through to the 103rd Congresses. The Serial Set 1994- continues on the GPO Access website.

You may also want to check:

Presidential Elections

Electing the President: Proceedings of the Democratic National Conventions, 1832-1988 (Archives Unbound)
This collection includes the proceedings of the 1832-1988 Democratic National Conventions, providing gavel to gavel coverage, including speeches, debates, votes, and party platforms. Also included are lists of names of convention delegates and alternates. Records of the earliest proceedings are based in part on contemporary newspaper accounts.
Electing the President: Proceedings of the Republican National Conventions, 1856-1988 (Archives Unbound)
The collection includes the proceedings for 1856-1988 of the Republican National Conventions, providing gavel to gavel coverage of the conventions, including speeches, debates, votes, and party platforms. Also included are lists of names of convention delegates and alternates. Records of the earliest proceedings are based in part on contemporary newspaper accounts.
Election of 1948 (Archives Unbound)
This collection provides documents and the perspectives of the four base camps from the 1948 United States presidential election: Democrat incumbent President and eventual victor Harry S. Truman (1884–1972; U.S. President, 1945–1953), Republican and New York Governor Thomas E. Dewey (1902–1971), Progressive and former Vice President Henry A. Wallace (1888–1965) and Dixiecrat and South Carolina Governor J. Strom Thurmond (1902–2003). Sources include Papers of Harry S Truman, Thomas E. Dewey Papers, Papers of Americans for Democratic Action as well as selections from several southern newspapers.

American Presidency Project
Includes speeches, debates and party platforms, alongside opposition responses and statistics related to presidential campaigns and election results.
A New Nation Votes: American Election Returns 1787-1825
A searchable collection of election returns from the earliest years of American democracy, which will include all 25 states and territories that existed between 1787 and 1825. The data is very diverse and involves all offices from Federal to local levels. The bulk of the election data came from contemporary sources such as newspapers and original election ballots. Other sources include County histories that were published in the 19th century. The data was compiled by Philip Lampi.
Commission on Presidential Debates: Debate History
Information on presidential and vice-presidential debates from 1858 to the present. Includes transcripts and video footage of debates from 1960-2008.
The Living Room Candidate: Presidential Campaign Commercials, 1952-2008
More than 300 commercials, from every presidential election since 1952.

US Government Publications: Executive/Presidential

About

Latest Presidency resources saved on diigo

Glossary

Presidential Papers and records

Executive records

Presidential Elections