Skip to main content

Criminology: Digital Archives

Subjects: Criminology, Law

MOML

The Making of Modern Law comprises over 21,000 works from the XIXth and early XXth centuries on British Commonwealth and American law. It covers nearly every aspect of law, encompassing a range of analytical, theoretical, and practical literature, some very rare. The monographs and materials in Legal Treatises include casebooks, local practice manuals, books on legal form, works for lay readers, pamphlets, letters, and speeches. The collection covers domestic and international law, legal history, business and economics, politics and government, national defence, criminology, religion, education, labour and social welfare, and military justice.

Mass Observation

This is a collection of material from the Mass Observation Archive. It includes the entire File Report sequence 1937-1972, access to all of the Day Surveys, Directives and Diaries, 1937-1942, early Mass Observation Publications and selected Topic Collections including crime and punishment and juvenile delinquency.

Crime and Punishment

The Proceedings
of the Old Bailey,
1674-1913

A fully searchable edition of the largest body of texts detailing the lives of non-elite people ever published, containing 197,745 criminal trials held at London's central criminal court.
The Archives hold extensive records relating to criminal courts and trials, but searching for specific documents or subjects can be difficult as these are not usually searchable in the catalogue. For searching records of crime and punishment use the guide.

John Jonson Collection

The John Johnson Collection: An Archive of Printed Ephemera provides access to thousands of items, offering unique insights into the changing nature of everyday life in Britain in the eighteenth, nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Icludes a section dedicated to crimes, murders trials and executions.