Skip to main content

Criminology: Statistics

Subjects: Criminology, Law

Bodleian Data Library

The Bodleian Data Library provides a range of services for researchers and students at the University of Oxford who need to make secondary use of statistics and data with the initial focus of the social sciences -

  • supports researchers and students in finding, accessing and using social science statistics and data;
  • manages the access and curation of restricted and sensitive datasets which may not be networked including data supplied by Eurostat;
  • offers a new data brokering and clearing house service for the acquisition of datasets by research centres in the Social Sciences Division;
  • provides consultancy services and highlights training opportunities;
  • alerts researchers to new sources of data.

For data enquiries and help please email data@bodleian.ox.ac.uk, or contact the Data Librarian direct: John Southall (tel.:  01865 285936) at the Bodleian Social Science Library.

Data Archives and Services

UK Data Service

A unified point of access to data from ESDS, Census Programme, Secure Data Service, and others: UK and Cross-national surveys, Longitudinal studiesCensus data, International macrodata, Business microdata,Qualitative/mixed methods.

UK Data Archive

Curator of the largest collection of digital data in the social sciences and humanities in the UK, provides a range of services supporting creators and users of social and economic data.

ICPSR

The largest data archive in the world offering more than 500,000 digital files containing social science research data for US and international micro data.
Search for data in the ICPSR archive, or to download datasets register to set up a MyData account whilst on campus.
Extensive help pages are available.

International Crime and Terrorism

International Terrorism (ITERATE)

Political Risk Services (PRS)

Armed Conflict Database

monitors armed conflicts worldwide, focusing on political, military and humanitarian trends in current conflicts, whether they are local rebellions, long-term insurgencies, civil wars or inter-state conflicts.

♦   UN-CTS - United Nations Surveys on Crime Trends and the Operations of Criminal Justice Systems;

♦  UNICRI - Reports on Counterfeiting and Organized Crime.

UK: Crime Survey and Statistics

Statistics: Crime and Policing

Official UK statistics.

Office for National Statistics: Crime and Justice

Figures on crime levels and trends for England and Wales based primarily on two sets of statistics: the Crime Survey for England and Wales (CSEW) and police recorded crime data.

UK Crime Statistics

Crime-Statistic.co.uk works with Police.uk to convert publicly available criminal information into an easily readable and comparable format. Compare Crime Statistics between any two UK postcodes.

British Crime Survey list of datasets

The British Crime Survey (BCS) is one of the largest social surveys conducted in Britain. It is primarily a 'victimisation' survey, in which respondents are asked about the experiences of property crimes of the household and personal crimes which they themselves have experienced.

International

Databanks International: Cross-National Time-Series (CNTS) Data Archive

This longitudinal national dataseries provides ranges of annual data from 1815 to the present for over 200 countries with 196 variables with comprehensive listing of international and national country data facts. General categories include demographic, social, political, and economic topics.
For more information about the dataset go to the publisher's site.

OECD iLibrary

The online library of the OECD (Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development) features its books, papers and statistics is the gateway to OECD’s analysis and data. It also contains content published by the International Energy Agency, the Nuclear Energy Agency, OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and the International Transport Forum.