Skip to main content

Criminology: Journal Articles

Subjects: Criminology, Law

Legal Periodicals

If you are focused on legal issues then a specialist legal database could be the best resource:

Large database of UK, US and international legal materials including cases, legislation and journal articles.
Log in using your SSO.
Westlaw AU
Australian Legal Data base containing law reports, journals, legislation, case digests and citators, encyclopaedias and commentary including the Laws of Australia.

Primary and secondary legal materials from the UK, EU, USA and many other jurisdictions.

Journals, U.S. legal materials, and classic legal texts.

Working Papers

The bepress Legal Repository offers working papers and pre-prints from scholars and professionals at top law schools around the world.

SSRN

Social Science Research Network (SSRN) contains legal working papers archive.

Indexes: Legal

HeinOnline

A subject index to selected international and comparative law periodicals and collections of essays.

Index to Legal Periodicals & Books

Index to Legal Periodicals & Books

Provides complete coverage of the most important English language legal information, with international coverage of scholarly articles, symposia, jurisdictional surveys, court decisions, legislation, books, book reviews and more.
Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective: 1908-1981

Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective: 1908-1981

A retrospective database that indexes over 750 legal periodicals published in the United States, Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, Australia and New Zealand. Coverage also includes: annual surveys of laws by jurisdiction; annual surveys of federal court cases; yearbooks and annual institutes.

ProQuest Abstracts & Indexes

Google

You can search for journal articles in Google scholar  and use the "Find it @ Oxford" link to access electronic versions. It also has 'cited by' links but these are not yet fully reliable.
Google Scholar
Note, however, that Scholar gives you quick, relevant results but it lacks advanced search tools and sometimes gives too many results. Also some legal materials are not available via Scholar.
Google Books
To find articles and books cited within books try searching Google books with the reference in quotation marks.

JSTOR

JSTOR
A popular archive of scholarly journals containing articles in full text, some as far back as the 1880s.

Citation searching

For citation searching, i.e. finding out what articles have cited an article or book after publication go to -

  • SCOPUS for citation searching for articles published after 1996
  • Social Science Citation Index -
    provides bibliographic references to significant items from over 1400 journals in the behavioural and social sciences.
  • Journal Citation Reports -
    a comprehensive resource for journal evaluation, using citation data drawn from over 8400 scholarly and technical journals worldwide.

Guide: TOCs & Alerts

ZETOC logo
Provides access to the British Library's Electronic Table of Contents of current journals and conference proceedings.
You can Search for citations of journal articles and conference proceedings; set up, modify and delete email Alert; or set up RSS feeds for journals.
The Journal Tables of Contents Service makes it easy to keep up-to-date with newly published scholarly material by enabling users to find, display, store, combine and reuse thousands of journal tables of contents from multiple publishers.