Skip to main content

Social Policy and Intervention: Journal Articles & Reports

Social Policy Association publications

SPA logo

Publications of the Social Policy Association, UK’s professional association for teachers, researchers, students and practitioners of social policy by Cambridge University Press.

Journal of Social Policy

(Also available online).
Peer reviewed articles on all aspects of social policy in an international context, with particular emphasis on the future direction of social policy, presentation of new empirical data.

Social Policy and Society

(Also available online)
An international academic journal containing original articles that draw upon contemporary policy-related research and developments in the social sciences.

Social Policy Digest

Companion to two above journals the Digest is currently suspended and is not being updated. The content is up to date as of the end of September 2014.

Social Policy Review


Provides all those interested in welfare issues with critical analyses of progress and change in areas of major interest during the past year.

Healthcare and public health

Healthcare databases advanced search (HDAS)

Provides access to reliable information for health and social care professionals:
  • search MEDLINE, EMBASE, CINAHL, PsycINFO, AMED, etc. (requires OpenAthens account;
  • or perform a quick search of PubMed (no OpenAthens account required).

MEDLINE®

The United States National Library of Medicine's (NLM) premier bibliographic database contains journal citations and abstracts for biomedical literature from around the world.

Bodleian readers can access MEDLINE via EBSCO, Ovid, ProQuest, WoK, or IBSS. Go to Ovid MEDLINE In-Process to see records with basic information and abstracts before it is indexed with MeSH heading(s) and added to Ovid MEDLINE.

PubMed®

Provides free access to MEDLINE and links to full text articles when possible.
  • PubMed Central is the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature, providing free access to the full text.
  • Europe PubMed Central - based on PubMed Central, free online digital archive of full-text, peer reviewed research publications.
  • PubMed provides a publicly accessible database of publications predominately focused upon biomedical sciences. Material covered in the database includes journal articles, conference proceedings, case reports, clinical trial reports and systematic reviews.

Oxford Bibliographies Online (Public Health)

Comprehensive subject bibliographies, which provide an up-to-date overview of the most recent and authoritative scholarship in the study of Public Health.

PsycINFO

Provides citations with abstracts to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioural, and health sciences.

Cochrane Library

An electronic publication designed to supply high quality evidence to inform people providing and receiving care, and those responsible for research, teaching, funding and administration at all levels.

Abstracts & Indexes - ProQuest and EBSCO

For structured literature searching you might try a combined search across Proquest social sciences bibliographic databases, or go to individual databases:

Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA)

Current research on social work, human services and related areas, including social welfare, social policy and community development;

Ethnic NewsWatch

An interdisciplinary full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press;

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS)

Indexes journals across the social sciences and in many languages;

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)

indexed journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers in all aspects of the study of language;

Social Services Abstracts

Health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education;

Sociological Abstracts

sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.

EBSCOhost logoFor abstracts and indexes focused on more precise subjects you might try searching EBSCO's:

Abstracts in Social Gerontology

Includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to social gerontology, including the psychology of ageing, elder abuse, society and the elderly, and other key areas of relevance to the discipline;

Anthropology Plus

A comprehensive index covering the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research. This database offers worldwide indexing of journals from the early 19th century to today, providing extensive indexing of journal articles, reports, and commentaries;

Chicano Database

Provides coverage dating back to the 1960s and selective indexing dating back to the early 1900s. Subject coverage includes art, bilingual education, education, labor, literature, mental health, law, poetry, politics and sociology;

Child Development & Adolescent Studies

Today's source for references to the current and historical literature related to growth and development of children through the age of 21. Book reviews and abstracts from journals and a bibliography of technical reports, books, book chapters, theses and dissertations covering biomedical and social sciences worldwide are indexed;

GreenFILE

Offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records;

National Review Archive

Offers complete indexing & abstracting and full text coverage for all issues of the journal back to the first issue in 1955 through to the present which provides coverage of political, economic, social, and cultural issues and trends.
To find more databases search or browse OXLIP+

Open access journals

BioMed Central Journals

Access Medicine & Public Health journals.

Directory of Open Access Journals

Community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals, including Public health and Public aspects of medicine topics.

Free Medical Journals

Global Social PolicyAvailable in printed and electronic form the journal focuses on aspects of social policy and social governance broadly defined in both contemporary and historical contexts.
Launched by CSPI (Center for Science in the Public Interest) Policy Library is a social, economic & foreign policy resource - updated daily with the latest jobs, research, and events.
Social Care Institute for Excellence

Social Care Online is a free service offering a complete range of information and research on all aspects of social care and social work in the UK.

Guide: Citation Searching

Web of Science®

Provides access to and cross-searching of data bases in the social sciences: Social Sciences Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index, Book Citation Index in Social Sciences & Humanities, and Journal Citation Reports.

SCOPUS

A bibliographic database for science, medicine and some social sciences going back as far as 1869.

Google Scholar

Also has 'cited by' links but these are not yet fully reliable.
⋄ To find articles and books cited within books try searching

Google Books

with the reference in quotation marks.
 

Alerts & TOCs

ZETOC logo
Provides access to the British Library's Electronic Table of Contents of current journals and conference proceedings.
The Journal TOCs (Journal Tables of Contents service) makes it easy to keep up-to-date with newly published scholarly material.