Skip to main content

International Development: Theses & Dissertations

OATD

Open Access Theses and Dissertations

A resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Metadata (information about the theses) comes from over 1100 colleges, universities, and research institutions. OATD currently indexes 3,429,635 theses and dissertations.
Also contains an index of over 2.4 million electronic theses and dissertations; to the extent possible, the index is limited to records of graduate-level theses that are freely available online.

General Resources

Proquest Dissertations and Theses:
Global

 

A collection of works from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along wtih some works written prior to 1997.

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses:
UK and Ireland

 

The collection offers the most comprehensive available listing of theses, with abstracts accepted for higher degrees by universities in the United Kingdom and Ireland, since 1716.

Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations

An international organization supporting electronic publishing and open access to scholarship.

DART-Europe

The European working group of NDLTD aims to provide researchers with a single European Portal for the discovery of Electronic Theses and Dissertations (ETDs).

National Resources

The EThoS service from the British Library aims to provide a national aggregated record of all doctoral theses awarded by UK Higher Education institutions, and free access to the full text of as many theses as possible for use by researchers.

To facilitate access to the material EThOS provides a digitisation on demand service.

A free database providing access to a comprehensive record of dissertations accepted by American universities during that time period, the print index Doctoral Dissertations Accepted by American Universities. It provides full page images of the original print index. The new citations include a link to access the full text, when available, via the Institutional Repositories.

Theses Canada Portal

A collaborative program aiming to acquire and preserve theses and dissertations from participating universities, provide free access to Canadian electronic theses and dissertations in the collection, and facilitate access to non-digital theses and dissertations in the collection.

National Library of Australia

A free repository of Australian material, including almost a million Australian theses.

See help on finding Australian theses.

Dissertations of China

The interface allows you to search for and view basic bibliographic details for theses and abstracts. Full text is available for the vast majority of entries but not all theses. Where full text is unavailable, you are advised to consult your subject librarian.

National Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations in Taiwan

You can search for and view basic bibliographic details for theses and abstracts. A personal registration is necessary to be able to download full text theses from this website. Where full text is unavailable, you are advised to consult your subject librarian.

Universities' Repositories

Oxford Research Archive

contains a growing collection of digital copies of successful Oxford theses submitted as part of research degree awards. The full content of as many theses as possible are made freely available to be accessed via the Internet.


White Rose University Consortium logo An online repository of doctoral theses from the Universities of Leeds, Sheffield and York. It is part of a national - and international - network of open access online databases promoting access to research outputs so that they can be found, read, cited and built upon.

Searching for Theses

You can search for Oxford MPhil and DPhil theses in your subject area on SOLO.

Simply search for "thesis [your subject] oxford" to find MPhil theses or "dphil [your subject] oxford" plus any keywords if you are interested in DPhil theses from the Department.

Selected MPhil theses are available in the Social Science Library.

DPhil theses can be requested (ASR via SOLO) from the Bodleian Bookstack to the Weston Library for consultation.

You can also search or browse various catalogues:

  • OxLIP+ Theses resources, Oxford libraries information platform.
  • COPAC, a union catalogue, giving free access to the merged online catalogues of members of the Consortium of Research Libraries.​
  • OAIster, a union catalog of digital resources.