Skip to main content

International Development: Journal Articles

Citation searching

For citation searching, i.e. finding out what articles have cited an article or book after publication go to - 

Social Science Citation Index (SSCI),

part of

Web of Science®

which uses citations for relevance and article ranking.

SCOPUS

, a bibliographic database for science, medicine and some social sciences going back as far as 1869.
Google scholar also has 'cited by' links but these are not yet fully reliable.
Google Scholar
To find articles and books cited within books try searching Google books with the reference in quotation marks.
Google Books

Economics, professional, trade and business

Business Source Complete

Definitive scholarly business database, providing a of bibliographic and full text content.

ProQuest   EconLit

For more structured literature searching you might try EconLit which has been the standard in economics bibliography for many years.

ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry
ABI/INFORM Global

Both contain journal articles in full text; can be searched along with a variety of professional, trade and business articles.

Politics, policy and social issues

Sociological Abstracts


For more structured literature searching for politics, policy, social issues you might try databases on Sociological Abstracts.

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS)

IBSS also indexes political science content and includes more non-English language material than the other databases.

Healthcare and education

ERIC (ProQuest Professional)

 

& ERIC (ProQuest Academic)

Provide access to education-related literature. It covers journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs.
You can also access ERIC database via OCLC/FirstSearch.

The PubMed database comprises more than 21 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

Full-text articles

JSTOR

Contains the full-text of many classic journals, some as far back as the 1880s.

TOCs & alerts

ZETOC logoProvides access to the British Library's Electronic Table of Contents of current journals and conference proceedings from 1993 to date, and is updated on a daily basis.

You can -
  • Search for citations of journal articles and conference proceedings;
  • Set up, modify and delete email Alert;
  • Set up RSS feeds for journals.

The JournalTOCs (Tables of Contents Service) is a searchable collection of scholarly journal Tables of Contents (TOCs). It contains articles' metadata of TOCs for over 22961 journals directly collected from over 2025 publishers. Users can find, display, store, combine and reuse thousands of journal tables of contents from multiple publishers.

You can also set up alerts and RSS feeds on SCOPUS, as well as WPSA (Worldwide Political Science Abstracts) and IBSS (International Bibliography of the Social Sciences).