Skip to main content

Refugee and Forced Migration Studies: Grey literature

Subjects: Refugee Studies

Classification

Refugee studies grey literature

The grey literature is organised geographically and thematically, according to the classification scheme created by the former RSC Library in conjunction with the British Refugee Council. The classification consists of a country/region code followed by a subject code.  See below for PDF lists of the codes used.

Other collections

Refugee studies grey literature at the SSL

GREY LITERATURE

This collection of unpublished and semi-published material includes

  • conference proceedings,
  • field trip reports,
  • research documents,
  • working papers,
  • newsletters from a wide range of academic departments, NGOs, and individuals.

Most of the materials have a geographical orientation, dealing with policy or practice in a particular region or country. Particular strengths include southern and East Africa, western Europe, the Middle East, and South and South East Asia.

Date coverage is mostly from the mid-1980s to the present day.

Finding grey literature

Use Search Oxford Libraries Online (SOLO) to find grey literature in the SSL.

Keyword searching in SOLO is facilitated by the use of specialised subject terms taken from the International Thesaurus of Refugee Terminology.

The collection is in closed access stacks called RSC Boxes in SOLO.  Please ask Issue Desk staff to fetch items for you.

Working papers issued by the University of Oxford Refugee Studies Centre (RSC) are kept in the Discussion and Working Papers section of the Library. These papers have the shelfmark "D+WP (Oxford...)". Papers from all social science subjects are arranged in a single sequence, alphabetically by institution, then by series, then by number. All RSC Working Papers are catalogued individually on SOLO.

Portals & gateways

A portal offering instant access to a wealth of web resources in forced migration. The Digital Library, including 3,000 full-text documents from the RSC Library's grey literature collection, is also accessible via this website.
Refworld
The UNHCR collection of refugee databases offers access to a wide range of information including international law and practice; current country conditions; national legislation; policy guidelines and manuals; United Nations documents and an extensive collection of bibliographic references.
ELDIS

Gateway to development information with full-text and topical guides.

OpenGrey
System for Information on Grey Literature in Europe providing bibliographical references of reports and other grey literature (GL) produced in Europe until 2005.