Skip to main content

Film Studies: Journal articles & reviews

A short guide to Bodleian Libraries' resources for Film Studies
Subjects: English, Film Studies

Film reviews

Many scholarly film journals include film reviews, for example Film Quarterly and Positif. Online newspaper film reviews are available on OxLIP+ - use the OxLIP+ subject tab to find online resources in the Newspapers category. The FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals (see Journal articles box) will also allow you to search for film reviews.

There are many websites that include film reviews, such as Guardian Film, Reverse Shot (publication of the Museum of the Moving Image) and Kamera (UK-based website with reviews and features).
 

Useful guides

Journal articles

To find articles on specific topics within Film Studies, there are a number of databases available via OxLIP+ which index film journals and other publications. Search OxLIP+ for the name of the database you want to use. To access many databases and other e-resources when you are not logged on to the University network, you will need to use your Oxford Single Sign-on.

The main database for Film Studies is the FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals. This bibliographic database indexes over 340 academic and popular film journals, dating from 1972 onwards. In addition, the database provides the full-text of 48 of the indexed journals.

Other useful databases which also index some film journals include:

Art Full Text: focuses on visual arts, and indexes a number of film journals, including Cahiers du Cinéma, Cinéaste, Film Comment, Film Quarterly, Journal of Popular Film and Television, Jump Cut, Sight and Sound, Studies in Russian and Soviet Cinema.

Literature Online: a fully searchable library of more than 350,000 works of English and American literature, 315 full-text journals, and other key criticism and reference resources. It also includes articles on film theory, criticism and individual directors (search for directors via the ‘Authors’ search link).

MLA International Bibliography: provides searchable indexed records from over 4,000 humanities journals from 1926 to the present, including a number of film journals.

In some cases, the database will provide the full text of an article. If the full article is not available via the database, search SOLO for the journal title to see if the journal is available in print or electronic format at Oxford. For articles from journals not held at Oxford, it is possible to make an inter-library loan request.

Journals

All journals held in Oxford, in both print and electronic formats, are catalogued on SOLO and can be searched for by title (refine the search by specifying 'Journals' rather than 'All items'). It is also possible to browse or search for electronic journals via Oxford University e-Journals.

The Media History Digital Library provides free online access digitized collections of classic media periodicals.