Skip to main content

Film Studies: Film collections

A short guide to Bodleian Libraries' resources for Film Studies
Subjects: English, Film Studies

Anglo-American Film

Anglo-American film is located at the English Faculty Library, where there is a well-established collection of books and approximately 2,900 films on DVD, including such genres as film noir, the western, horror and melodrama. The film collection also includes a number of Shakespearean productions and other films of general literary interest.

European and World Cinema

The Taylor Institution Library focuses on European cinema and theoretical work in film aesthetics. The film collections are housed in the Teaching Collection part of the Taylor Library. The materials include film books and journals, and a growing collection of approximately 5,300 films on DVD (with a limited number of Blu-rays), including works by key European directors such as Bergman, Fassbinder, Fellini, Godard and Renoir. The library also acquires films from around the world (including Latin America and Asia).

Film material at the Bodleian Library

The main Bodleian Library is a legal deposit library and therefore entitled to UK and Irish books and journals on all subjects including Film Studies. There is a small open-shelf collection of film books and journals in the Upper Camera Reading Room, but the majority of books are held in the bookstacks and can be requested using the automated stack request system via SOLO.

Additional film collections

The Bodleian Japanese Library holds approximately 200 videos of Japanese film, educational materials on Japan and television recordings. There are also books on Japanese cinema, for reference use only.

The Bodleian K B Chen China Centre Library has a growing collection of books on Chinese film which may be borrowed.

There is a growing collection of books and historical journals on Egyptian cinema at the Middle East Centre Library, St Antony's College.

A specialist collection of books on Indian film, both Bollywood and art-house (previously located in the Indian Institute Reading Room in the New Bodleian), is currently accommodated in the Bodleian Library bookstack, and items can be ordered via the stack request system on SOLO.

Chinese, Egyptian, Indian and Japanese films on DVD are also acquired by the Taylor Institution Library for its holdings in World cinema.

There are additional film collections at the Rewley House Continuing Education Library, the History Faculty Library and the Language Centre Library. Some college libraries also have film collections, including Magdalen College Library.

Collection Policy for Film Studies