Skip to main content

Film Studies: Getting started

A short guide to Bodleian Libraries' resources for Film Studies
Subjects: English, Film Studies

About this guide

This guide provides a general introduction to library and information resources available in Oxford for all those studying, teaching and researching Film Studies.


Jean Painlevé, French scientist and filmmaker, 1902-1989
Photograph © Les Documents
Cinématographiques 2006

Taylor Institution Library Blog

Launched in January 2015, the aim of the Taylor Institution Library blog is to highlight items of interest in the library collections and to contribute to bibliographical scholarship in modern languages.

Previous posts include one on the Taylor's collection of Polish cinema, and another on the library's collection of Brazilian film.

 

Finding film resources in Oxford's libraries

Film Studies is a growing discipline in Oxford, with film collections currently housed across a number of different libraries in the Humanities, Area Studies and Social Sciences. The film collections are primarily organised by country: the Film collections secion of this guide gives more detail about where to find Film Studies material in the Bodleian Libraries.

Use SOLO, the library catalogue which covers the majority of the Library collections of the Univesity of Oxford, to search our collections for films, books, journals and other resources.

All films are catalogued on the library catalogue and can be searched for by title or by director (as an author). Information about video formats and DVD regional codes is also provided on the library catalogue, and it is important to check this before playing films on your machine. Further help with using SOLO to find film-related material is available in the Using SOLO to Find Film Studies Material guide.

Please note that films may be borrowed for educational purposes only, and that commercial copyright regulations strictly forbid the copying of DVDs and videos.

New resources

Please see the PDF documents below for lists of new films acquired for the English Faculty & Taylor Libraries from March to June 2017, and new Film Studies books acquired for the English Faculty, Taylor and Bodleian Libraries from March to June 2017 (this excludes new books added to the Bodleian collections via Legal Deposit).

If you would like to make suggestions of films, books or other Film Studies resources for the Bodleian Libraries collection, please contact Helen Scott, English and Film Studies Subject Librarian via the details on this page.

Film Studies Subject Librarian

If you have a specific enquiry relating to film resources, or would like to book an individual appointment for advice about researching Film Studies, please contact:
Helen Scott
Film Studies Subject Librarian, Bodleian Libraries

Tel: 01865 (2)71051
Email: helen.scott@bodleian.ox.ac.uk

I am based mostly in the English Faculty Library, but am also in the Taylor Institution Library on Tuesday mornings 10am-1pm, and available for 'drop in' enquiries in the Bodleian Library (Humanities Office, Upper Reading Room) on Wednesday afternoons 2pm-5pm.

Search SOLO