Skip to main content

Politics and International Relations: Journal Articles & Working Papers

Full text resources

JSTOR

contains the full-text of many of the classic political science journals back to their earliest issues.

columbia international affairs online

- a comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs publishes materials from 1991 onward.
Political Research Online

Contains pre-prints and conference papers that are increasingly available through center and institute web servers and not readily identifiable generally in the field.

Abstracts and Indexes

For citation searching, i. e. finding out what articles have cited an article or book after publication go to:

Social Science Citation Index

Part of Web of Science® which uses citations for relevance and article ranking.

SCOPUS

An abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings.

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS)

Also indexes political science content and includes more non-English language material than the other databases.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (WPSA)

Try for more structured literature searching.

To find articles and books cited within books try searching Google books with the reference in quotation marks.

Google scholar  also has 'cited by' links but these are not yet fully reliable.

Find more databases for political science research on OXLIP+

   

Guide: TOCs & Alerts

ZETOC logo
Provides access to the British Library's Electronic Table of Contents of current journals and conference proceedings from 1993 to date, and is updated on a daily basis.
You can Search for citations of journal articles and conference proceedings; set up, modify and delete email Alert; or set up RSS feeds for journals.

The Journal Tables of Contents service

makes it easy to keep up-to-date with newly published scholarly material by pulling together a database of tables of contents from scholarly journals and provideing a convenient single "one stop shop" interface to these TOCs.
You can also set up alerts and RSS feeds on SCOPUS, as well as IBSS (International Bibliography of the Social Sciences) and WPSA (Worldwide Political Science Abstracts).

CAIRN

Political Science & Law

Offers a comprehensive online collection of francophone publications in social sciences and humanities with abstracts and selected articles from key journals translated into English.

Guide: Google Scholar

You can search for journal articles in Google scholar and use the "Find it @ Oxford" link to access electronic versions.