Skip to main content

Sociology: Digital Archives

Subjects: Sociology

Oxford Digital Collections

A selection of digital archive material avaialble to Oxford users. All resources are full-text and fully searchable covering topics as varied as everyday life in Britain between 1937-1972, gender, the experiences of refugees now and in Post-War Europe, social movements, and ephemera of sociological interest.
To get more detailed information on how to access resources available to the Bodleian Library readers go to the Special Collections & Western Manuscripts guide "Finding Aids - Early Modern & Modern Manuscripts at the Bodleian Library".

General

The collection includes the entire File Report sequence 1937-1972, access to all of the Day Surveys, Directives and Diaries, 1937-1942, early Mass Observation Publications and selected Topic Collection.

Forced Migration Online

provides instant access to a wide variety of online resources dealing with the situation of forced migrants worldwide aiming to give comprehensive information in an impartial environment and to promote increased awareness of human displacement issues to an international community of users.
Post War Europe: Refugees, Exile and Resettlement, 1945-1950 - Covers the politics and administration of the refugee crisis in Europe after World War II as well as the day-to-day survival of the refugees themselves.

Gender

Collection of original source material from British and European archives useful for those studying history, literature, sociology, education and cultural studies from a gendered perspective.
Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000, this collection seeks to advance scholarly debates and understanding about U.S. history generally at the same time that it makes the accessible insights of women's history.

Pop Culture

Victorian Popular Culture Popular culture in Britain and America

John Jonson Collection

This John Johnson Collection of Printed Ephemera provides access to thousands of items, offering insights into the changing nature of everyday life in Britain in the eighteenth, nineteenth and early twentieth centuries.

Categories include the Booktrade, Popular Prints, 19th Century Entertainment, Crimes, Murders & Executions, and Advertising.

London

Historical Archive, 1842-2003

A full-text searchable resource, containing colour digital images of rare books, ephemera, maps and other materials relating to 18th, 19th and early 20th century London.