Guides Directory - Browse All Guides
Browse guides alphabetically, by subject, or by librarian


  Search: 
 
Jump To:  A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | W | Z | #

A
A Brief Guide to the Sackler Library
by Jane Bruder - Last Updated Oct 21, 2011
general information about the Sackler Library collections and borrowing regulations


A short guide to the English Faculty Library
by Kerry Webb - Last Updated Sep 30, 2011
A short guide to help you make the most of the English Faculty Library


Africa: sub-Saharan jurisdictions
by Elizabeth Wells - Last Updated May 9, 2012

African Studies
by Lucy McCann - Last Updated Apr 4, 2012


Ancient law (excluding Roman law)
by Elizabeth Wells - Last Updated Feb 27, 2012

Ancient Near East
by Diane Bergman - Last Updated Aug 24, 2011
The premier research library for the study of the Ancient Near East in Oxford University is the Sackler Library, which incorporates the Griffith Library which was housed in the Griffith Institute wing of the former Ashmolean Library.

Art and Architecture
by Clare Hills-Nova - Last Updated Apr 10, 2012


Australian law
by Ruth Bird - Last Updated Feb 27, 2012

B
Belarusian Language and Literature
by Nick Hearn - Last Updated May 13, 2012


Biological Sciences
by Judith Pinfold - Last Updated May 11, 2012


Bodleian Chinese Studies Library Guide
by Trevor Langrish - Last Updated Apr 20, 2012
Guide to resources

Bodleian Japanese Library
by Yuki Kissick - Last Updated Sep 30, 2011
A guide to using the Bodleian Japanese Library ボドリアン図書館附属日本研究図書館

Bodleian Latin American Centre Library Guide
by Frank Egerton - Last Updated Jan 10, 2012
Latin American Studies at Oxford

Bodleian Oriental Institute Library
by Dawn Vaux, James Fishwick - Last Updated May 10, 2012
A guide to using the Bodleian Oriental Institute Library

Bodleian Social Science Library Guide
by Dawn Young - Last Updated Apr 12, 2012
A short guide to the Library and our collections.

Bulgarian Language and Literature
by Nick Hearn - Last Updated Apr 5, 2012


C
Caribbean nations: legal resources
by Helen Matthews - Last Updated Feb 14, 2012

Celtic
by Janet Foot - Last Updated Nov 18, 2011

Chemistry
by Ljilja Ristic - Last Updated May 9, 2012
A guide to research resources for Chemistry

China and Inner Asia
by Minh Chung, Charles Manson - Last Updated Feb 5, 2012


Citing References
by Jane Morgan-Daniel, Jo Gardner - Last Updated Feb 16, 2012

Clinical Evidence
by Jane Morgan-Daniel, Jo Gardner - Last Updated Feb 16, 2012

Clinical Medicine
by Jo Gardner, Jane Morgan-Daniel - Last Updated Feb 16, 2012

Commercial Arbitration
by Elizabeth Wells - Last Updated Apr 27, 2012

Commonwealth Studies
by Lucy McCann - Last Updated Feb 1, 2012

Competition law
by Elizabeth Wells, Margaret Watson - Last Updated Feb 29, 2012

Computer Science
by Ljilja Ristic - Last Updated Jan 16, 2012



Corporate law and finance
by Ruth Bird - Last Updated Feb 27, 2012

Creating a Library password
by Angela Carritt - Last Updated Jan 26, 2012

Criminal and Judicial Statistics: 1800 to present day
by Hannah Chandler - Last Updated Apr 23, 2012

Criminal law & justice
by Elizabeth Wells - Last Updated Apr 25, 2012

Criminology
by Mark Janes, Elizabeth Wells - Last Updated Feb 28, 2012

D
Datastream
by Emma Lewis - Last Updated Mar 13, 2012

Development Studies
by Mark Janes - Last Updated Mar 7, 2012

E

Earth Sciences
by Sue Bird - Last Updated Mar 15, 2012

Economics
by Mark Janes - Last Updated May 2, 2012



Education: Referencing and Avoiding Plagiarism
by Sophia Staves, Kate Williams - Last Updated Jan 20, 2012
A guide for students in the Department of Education


EFL training and workshops
by Kerry Webb - Last Updated May 4, 2012

Egyptology
by Diane Bergman, Dawn Vaux - Last Updated Aug 24, 2011
The premier research library for the study of Egyptology in Oxford University is the Sackler Library, which incorporates the Griffith Library which was housed in the Griffith Institute wing of the former Ashmolean Library.

Engineering
by Ljilja Ristic - Last Updated May 9, 2012



English Language (FHS Paper 1 / A5): a short guide to online resources
by Sonya Adams, Kerry Webb - Last Updated May 16, 2012
Online resources for FHS Papers 1 & A5: The English Language / The History of the English Language to c.1750


European Union Law
by Margaret Watson - Last Updated Feb 27, 2012

Evidence Based Social Intervention
by Mark Janes - Last Updated Mar 27, 2012

Exeter College Library
by Juliet Chadwick - Last Updated Dec 9, 2010

F

Film Studies
by Kerry Webb, Helen Scott - Last Updated Apr 16, 2012
A short guide to Bodleian Libraries' resources for Film Studies

Finding Aids - Early Modern & Modern Manuscripts at the Bodleian Library
by Special Collections - Last Updated May 4, 2012
A guide to the finding aids available for early modern and modern manuscripts in the Bodleian Library.

Finding Aids - Music Collections
by Special Collections - Last Updated Jan 30, 2012
A guide to the finding aids available for the music collections in the Bodleian Library.

Finding Aids - Oriental Manuscripts & Rare Books
by Special Collections - Last Updated May 4, 2012
A guide to the finding aids available for Oriental mauscripts in the Bodleian Library

Finding Aids - Papyri, Medieval & Renaissance Manuscripts at the Bodleian Library
by Special Collections - Last Updated Apr 27, 2012
A guide to the finding aids available for papyri and medieval manuscripts in the Bodleian Library.


Finding EFL books using the LC classification scheme
by Kerry Webb - Last Updated Sep 28, 2011
A guide to finding English Faculty Library books classified using the Library of Congress classification scheme

Finding Russian Studies journal articles
by Nick Hearn - Last Updated May 5, 2012
This guide aims to show different methods for searching for journal articles for Russian (and Slavonic) studies including cross-searching and to show which journals relevant to Russian (and Slavonic) studies are available online at Oxford.


Forestry
by Judith Pinfold - Last Updated May 11, 2012

French and Francophone newspapers
by Nick Hearn - Last Updated Apr 21, 2012

French Language and Literature
by Nick Hearn - Last Updated May 15, 2012
This guide aims to provide an introduction to essential library and electronic resources for French studies at Oxford

French Language and Literature journal articles
by Nick Hearn - Last Updated May 11, 2012
This guide aims to show different methods for searching for journal articles for French studies including cross-searching and to show which journals relevant to French studies are available online at Oxford.

French Law
by Elizabeth Wells - Last Updated May 9, 2012

Frisian
by Johanneke Sytsema - Last Updated Jan 11, 2011
Frisian language and literature

G
Geography and the Environment
by Sue Bird, Louise Clarke - Last Updated Mar 15, 2012
Guide to the latest and most useful research resources for geography and the environment

German Language and Literature
by Nick Hearn, Jill Hughes - Last Updated Apr 24, 2012
This guide aims to provide an introduction to essential library and electronic resources for German studies at Oxford

German law
by Elizabeth Wells - Last Updated Apr 25, 2012

Greek (Modern)
by Joanne Edwards - Last Updated Sep 30, 2011

H
History
by Isabel Holowaty - Last Updated Nov 30, 2011
An overview of guides to History collections in Oxford.


History Faculty Library: a short guide
by Isabel Holowaty, Valerie Lawrence - Last Updated Apr 24, 2012
A short guide to help you make the most of the History Faculty Library.


History, American
by Isabel Holowaty, Jane Rawson - Last Updated Jan 6, 2012

How-to: Search Business Databases
by Emma Lewis - Last Updated Mar 13, 2012

Human Rights
by Kate Jackson - Last Updated Apr 12, 2012

I
Images for Medical Sciences
by Juliet Ralph - Last Updated Feb 9, 2012

Indian Law
by Beth Paton - Last Updated Mar 2, 2012

Intellectual Property Law
by Beth Paton - Last Updated Apr 27, 2012

International Criminal Law
by Elizabeth Wells - Last Updated May 11, 2012

International Relations
by Mark Janes - Last Updated Apr 25, 2012

Internet & Media Studies
by Mark Janes - Last Updated Mar 29, 2012



Irish Law
by Michèle Walker - Last Updated May 6, 2012

Islamic law
by Elizabeth Wells - Last Updated Feb 27, 2012

Italian Literature & Language
by Clare Hills-Nova - Last Updated Apr 10, 2012

J

Jesus College Library
by Owen McKnight - Last Updated May 15, 2012

Jurisprudence
by Elizabeth Wells - Last Updated Mar 9, 2012

K
Key Business Resources
by Emma Lewis - Last Updated May 10, 2012

KOREA
by Minh Chung - Last Updated Jan 6, 2012

L
Labour & employment law
by Elizabeth Wells - Last Updated Apr 25, 2012

Latin American History
by Joanne Edwards - Last Updated May 9, 2012
An introductory guide to sources for Latin American history.

Latin American Jurisdictions
by Kathryn Tyne - Last Updated May 9, 2012

Latin American Studies
by Frank Egerton - Last Updated Mar 20, 2012



League of Nations
by Hannah Chandler - Last Updated Mar 19, 2012



Legal Skills and Research
by Kate Jackson - Last Updated May 14, 2012
Information and resources on legal skills and legal research techniques.

Linguistics
by Johanneke Sytsema, Frank Egerton - Last Updated Dec 13, 2011
A guide to linguistics collections and e-resources

M

Materials Science
by Ljilja Ristic - Last Updated Feb 22, 2012

Mathematics
by Ljilja Ristic - Last Updated May 9, 2012

Media law
by Elizabeth Wells - Last Updated Apr 30, 2012

Medical Law & Ethics
by Kathryn Tyne - Last Updated Apr 18, 2012
UK, EU & international medical law & ethics.

Medical Sciences : Research Resources
by Juliet Ralph - Last Updated Feb 9, 2012
Guide to Oxford University library resources for postgraduates, postdocs and researchers in the Medical Sciences Division.

Medicine
by Jane Morgan-Daniel, Jo Gardner, Juliet Ralph - Last Updated Feb 16, 2012
A guide to library provision for both pre-clinical and clinical medicine

Middle East and Islamic Studies
by Dinah Manisty - Last Updated Jan 3, 2012

Migration Studies
by Sarah Rhodes - Last Updated Apr 4, 2012

Modern Languages
by Frank Egerton - Last Updated Mar 9, 2012


N
Netherlands
by Helen Matthews - Last Updated Apr 27, 2012

New Zealand law
by Elizabeth Wells - Last Updated Feb 27, 2012

North Africa & Middle East
by Elizabeth Wells - Last Updated Apr 25, 2012


Nuffield College Library
by Ed Smithson - Last Updated Nov 22, 2011

Numismatics
by Diane Bergman - Last Updated Aug 24, 2011
The premier research library for the study of Numismatics in Oxford University is the Sackler Library, which incorporates the former library of the Heberden Coin Room of the Ashmolean Museum.

O
Official Papers : A guide to the collections
by Hannah Chandler - Last Updated Mar 27, 2012

Official Papers for Criminology & Socio-Legal Studies
by Hannah Chandler - Last Updated Apr 2, 2012

Official Papers for Education
by Hannah Chandler - Last Updated Jan 10, 2012

Official Papers for Refugee Studies
by Hannah Chandler - Last Updated Mar 19, 2012

Official Papers for Social Care and Social Policy
by Hannah Chandler - Last Updated Mar 29, 2012


ORA: Oxford University Research Archive
by Sally Rumsey - Last Updated Aug 30, 2011
A guide to using ORA for storing and disseminating digital copies of Oxford research publications including theses

OxLIP+ eResources for English
by Kerry Webb - Last Updated Aug 11, 2011
An introductory guide to eResources for English on OxLIP+

P

Parliamentary Papers, Proceedings and Departmental Papers : UK
by Hannah Chandler - Last Updated Mar 19, 2012

Patent Information
by Ljilja Ristic - Last Updated May 9, 2012

Pathology
by Juliet Ralph - Last Updated Jan 25, 2012




PCAS - Managing your account
by Kerry Webb, Carrie Cobb - Last Updated Jan 16, 2012






PCAS - Scanning instructions
by Kerry Webb, Carrie Cobb - Last Updated Sep 23, 2011


Pharmacology
by Juliet Ralph - Last Updated Feb 9, 2012

Philosophy
by Colin Cook, Hilla Wait - Last Updated Sep 1, 2011

Philosophy Faculty Library Guide
by Colin Cook - Last Updated Oct 12, 2011
A short guide to help you find what you need in the library.

Physics
by Ljilja Ristic - Last Updated May 9, 2012

Physiology, Anatomy & Genetics
by Juliet Ralph - Last Updated Jan 25, 2012

Plant Taxonomy
by Anne Catterall - Last Updated Apr 24, 2012
The aim is to list useful resources and research tools (both print and online) for plant taxonomists and to encourage you to seek help in finding information - making the best use of libraries and online resources.

Politics and International Relations
by Mark Janes - Last Updated May 9, 2012

Portuguese and Brazilian Language and Literature
by Joanne Edwards - Last Updated Sep 24, 2011
Guide to resources for Portuguese and Brazilian language and literature studies.

Pre-clinical Medicine
by Juliet Ralph - Last Updated May 3, 2012
Guide to Oxford University library resources for Pre-clinical Medical Students.

Psychology
by Karine Barker - Last Updated May 4, 2012

Public international law
by Elizabeth Wells - Last Updated May 11, 2012

R
Rare Books in the Bodleian Library
by Sarah Wheale - Last Updated May 8, 2012
Guide to using Rare Books in the Bodleian Library

Refugee Studies
by Sarah Rhodes - Last Updated May 8, 2012

RefWorks for managing references and citations
by Michèle Walker - Last Updated May 6, 2012
guide to using RefWorks online reference management tool for producing formatted bibliographies and sharing references

Research Resources for Biosciences
by Oliver Bridle - Last Updated Mar 26, 2012

Resources for Biochemistry
by Oliver Bridle - Last Updated Apr 23, 2012

Resources for Bioinformatics
by Oliver Bridle - Last Updated Feb 9, 2012


Roman law
by Margaret Watson, Helen Matthews - Last Updated Feb 27, 2012


Russian and East European Area Studies
by Angelina Gibson - Last Updated Sep 7, 2011
Guide to library provision for Slavonic, Russian, Central and East European history and social sciences

Russian and Slavonic Language and Literature
by Nick Hearn - Last Updated May 14, 2012
This guide aims to introduce library readers researching or studying Russian to essential library and electronic resources for the subject area.

Russian literature 1700-1800
by Nick Hearn - Last Updated May 5, 2012

Russian Literature to 1700
by Nick Hearn - Last Updated May 5, 2012

S
Scholarly Communications
by Sally Rumsey - Last Updated Mar 18, 2011
Information about developments in the dissemination and sharing of Oxford research

Sci59 Online Career Tool
by Jane Morgan-Daniel, Jo Gardner - Last Updated Sep 29, 2011

Science
by Catherine Dockerty - Last Updated Jan 26, 2012

Shakespeare: a short guide to online resources
by Kerry Webb - Last Updated Jan 31, 2012
Online resources for Shakespeare

Singapore
by Emily Sargeant, Elizabeth Wells - Last Updated Feb 27, 2012

Social and Cultural Anthropology
by Mike Morris, Louise Clarke, Simon Cole - Last Updated May 15, 2012
A guide to resources for anthropologists at Oxford.

Social Policy
by Mark Janes - Last Updated Mar 27, 2012

Socio-Legal Studies
by Mark Janes, Elizabeth Wells - Last Updated Jan 25, 2012

Sociology
by Mark Janes - Last Updated Mar 22, 2012


South African law
by Elizabeth Wells - Last Updated Feb 27, 2012

Spanish and Latin American Language and Literature
by Joanne Edwards - Last Updated Nov 25, 2011
Guide to resources for Hispanic language and literature studies.

Spanish Law
by Elizabeth Wells - Last Updated Apr 30, 2012

Special Collections at the Bodleian Library
by Special Collections - Last Updated Dec 6, 2011
The subject hub for the Bodleian Library's Special Collections LibGuides

St Hugh's College Library
by Laura Wilkinson - Last Updated Apr 26, 2012


Summer Schools 2011
by Kerry Webb, Sue Pemberton - Last Updated Jul 2, 2011
A brief guide to Oxford University Libraries

Summer Schools 2011 - Bodleian Library guide
by Kerry Webb, Kate Petherbridge, Sue Pemberton - Last Updated Jul 7, 2011
A brief introductory guide to the Central Bodleian Library

T
Tax law
by Elizabeth Wells - Last Updated Feb 27, 2012

Taylor Bodleian Slavonic & Modern Greek Library Guide
by Jennifer Griffiths - Last Updated Sep 27, 2010
East European Languages, Literature and Culture

Taylor Institution Library Guide
by Frank Egerton - Last Updated Oct 12, 2011
Modern Languages in Oxford (West European)


The Cochrane Library
by Jane Morgan-Daniel, Jo Gardner - Last Updated May 3, 2012

Theology Faculty Library Guide
by Colin Cook - Last Updated Sep 1, 2011
The Faculty Library caters primarily for undergraduates and postgraduates by offering a lending collection that reflects current taught courses in the Theology Faculty.

Trinity College Library
by Sharon Cure - Last Updated Apr 24, 2012

U
Ukrainian language and literature
by Nick Hearn - Last Updated May 5, 2012

United Kingdom Law
by Kate Jackson - Last Updated Apr 30, 2012

United Nations
by Hannah Chandler - Last Updated Mar 22, 2012

UpToDate
by Jane Morgan-Daniel, Jo Gardner - Last Updated May 3, 2012

US Government Publications
by Jane Rawson - Last Updated Jan 6, 2012

US Studies at Oxford
by Jane Rawson - Last Updated Aug 15, 2011

Using SOLO to find Film Studies material
by Kerry Webb, Helen Scott - Last Updated Apr 12, 2012
and a guide to the Film Studies Classification Scheme

Using the iPad2
by Oliver Bridle, Judith Pinfold, Isabel McMann - Last Updated May 10, 2012

W
WHICH PASSWORD DO I NEED?
by Jane Bruder - Last Updated Oct 21, 2011
assistance with which passwords to use for services in the Bodleian Libraries

Workshops and Classes
by User Education, Angela Carritt - Last Updated May 11, 2012

Z
Zotero citation management
by Michèle Walker - Last Updated May 6, 2012
a Firefox addon that collects, manages, and cites research sources. It's easy to use, lives in your web browser where you do your work, and best of all it's free.

#

Receive Email Updates

Receive email alerts whenever guides of interest to you are published.

Receive Email Updates