Opening Hours
Term time:
1st - 8th weeks (Mon - Fri)
09:15 – 19:00
Saturday 0th - 8th weeks
10:00 – 13:00
Vacation:
Monday – Friday 09:15 - 17:00
Saturday Closed
Search the catalogue
- Allegro -- Japanese catalogue 日本語書籍・雑誌目録For books and periodicals in Japanese. Search in romaji/alphabets or kanji/kana.
- SOLOFor books and periodicals in Western languages (OLIS), e-Journals and e-Books. Our location code is BJL.
- OxLIP+For databases, OXAM, ORA, e-Resources in Japanese.
Search SOLO
About the Bodleian Japanese Library
Subjects Covered
The University of Oxford's principal collections relating to Japan in the humanities and social sciences.
Admissions
We welcome all holders of University library card/Bodleian Libraries card to the Bodleian Japanese Library (BJL). For information please refer to the Bodleian Libraries' Admissions page.
Inductions are held during 0th week or 1st week of Michaelmas Term. Please ask at the library desk for more details.
Borrowing
University blue-stripe card holders (i.e. matriculated students and staff) may borrow books from the BJL Loan collection. Books may be renewed if they have not been reserved by another reader. Please note that fines will be charged on overdue items. See the Bodleian Japanese Library website (Borrowing) for details.
Japanese collections in Oxford
In addition to BJL's collections, a small teaching collection of books relating to Japan (humanities subjects) are also held at the Oriental Institute Library.
Books on Japanese art and archaeology are held in the Eastern Art Collection at the Sackler Library.
.
Useful links - about Japan
For e-resources and useful links about Japan
Basic guide
Bodleian Library log on ( for Reader PC, Wi-fi Bodleian)
Login with your library barcode number (on your Library/University card) and password.
Instruction for setting/resetting your password
Oxford University SSO (Single Sign On)
For SOLO (e-shelf, My Account, HOLD), OxLIP+ remote access (General guide to OxLIP+). Also for NEXUS, WebLearn, RefWorks, EndNotes, OWL
Search the catalogues
SOLO (General guide to SOLO), Allegro Japanese.
Our location code is BJL. Most of our collections are open access at BJL, but some are stored offsite (Remote Store- indicated in the catalogue).
PCAS (Print Copy & SCAN) General guide to PCAS (User name/password and e-mail address)
Contact BJL
Bodleian Japanese Library
27 Winchester Road
Oxford OX2 6NA
United Kingdom
(01865)284506
http://www.bodleian.ox.ac.uk/bjl
Location No.2 (C3) on this map
Bodleian Japanese Librarian:
Izumi Tytler
(01865) 284502
izumi.tytler@bodleian.ox.ac.uk


Loading...
