Skip to main content

Alexander Library of Ornithology Guide: Home

Opening hours

The Alexander Library of Ornithology has relocated temporarily to Level 2 of the Radcliffe Science Library.

  • Open shelf material (including most of the book, journal and reprint collections) is accessible during the normal opening hours of the RSL.
  • Archive and rare book collection are accessible by appointment with the Alexander Librarian (please email sophie.wilcox@bodleian.ox.ac.uk). Working Hours the Librarian is available are given below.

Any queries relating to the Alexander Library collections should be directed to sophie.wilcox@bodleian.ox.ac.uk


Alexander Library Enquiries is open during these hours:

MONDAY - WEDNESDAY : 09.30 - 14.00

Outside these hours the Alexander Library Enquiry Desk is unstaffed.

Publications that used or are about our collections:

About the Alexander Library of Ornithology

Image of the new Alexander Library at the Radliffe Science Library

 

The Alexander Library of Ornithology is one of the foremost ornithological reference libraries in the world.  It holds extensive collections of 19th, 20th and 21st century books, pamphlets and periodicals, and an archive of ornithological notebooks and diaries. It is an international resource with the collections covering ornithology, natural history, conservation, ecology and behaviour.

Founded in the 1930's on the personal collections of Wilfrid Backhouse Alexander, it was originally housed at 91 Banbury Road. W.B. Alexander was the first Director of the Oxford Bird Census (the predecessor of the Edward Grey Institute of Field Ornithology) and on his retirement in 1945 he became the first Librarian, holding the position until 1955. The Library was named in his honour in 1947.

Today, much of the material within the collections is received via donation or through exchange schemes. The library enjoys a close relationship with the British Ornithologists' Union and books which have been reviewed within its journal, The Ibis, are subsequently deposited in the Alexander Library. The Library also houses the British Falconers' Club Library.

It has a stock of around 11,000+ books, 85,500 offprints/reports, 500 theses; some 500 current journals plus another 1,500 non-current.

Admissions policy

The Library is open for reference use only to all members of the University with a current University card and to holders of valid Bodleian Libraries cards.

External visitors are welcome to visit and can be admitted on a one-off Day Pass on presentation of identification. Visitors must contact the library to make an appointment in advance of visiting.

If you wish to use the library for a longer period you will need to apply for a reader's ticket from the Bodleian Libraries Admissions office.

Where are we?

The Alexander Library is based on Level 2 of the Radcliffe Science Library, on the corner of South Parks Road and Parks Road. A map of the location of the Radcliffe Science Library can be found here - http://www.bodleian.ox.ac.uk/science/about/locate

There is Pay & Display parking available in Mansfield Road but the Radcliffe Science Library is easily walkable from the city centre.There is limited disabled parking space outside the Radcliffe Science Library. It is essential to pre-book this space in advance of your visit. To pre-book space, please E-mail enquiries.rsl@bodleian.ox.ac.uk or phone on +44 (0)1865 272800.

Alexander & Ornithology Subject Librarian

Sophie Wilcox's picture
Sophie Wilcox
Contact:
Alexander Library of Ornithology
Bodleian Libraries
Radcliffe Science Library
Parks Road
Oxford OX1 3QP
+44 (0)1865 2-72844

Need Help?

For ornithology subject enquiries please contact Sophie Wilcox:

sophie.wilcox@bodleian.ox.ac.uk

For other subject enquiries please check our Subjects page.

General information about Oxford University science libraries is available here.